We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCHS”
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
wa7 6nn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“LOCHS”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went on a five day turkey and tinsel with Alpha. Had a good journey to Scotland, Brian our driver very helpful and told us lots of information about all the sights, Hotel opposite the Loch and the views of the mountains was lovely. Couldnt fault the hotel our bedroom was very clean and warm and we had a big bathroom with plenty of hot water, we didnt have a view of the Loch but you only had to go outside to see it. The food was lovely and plenty of it the staff worked really hard and were pleasant. There was entertainment every night which we enjoyed . To get into Fort William it was a 3 mile walk along a busy road but there is a bus service and also local taxis which we used. I would go there again had a really good time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    95
    73
    28
    36
See reviews for
39
108
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It’s quite a distance from the town (2.8 miles, to be precise), but for a one night stop on our way home, it did the job.

I noticed a damp and musty smell on the way through to the dining room, and there was a threadbare taped up carpet on one of the flights of stairs up to my room (there are no lifts), but other than that, I found no problems. Staff were friendly and helpful, and my room was clean and comfortable.

Mealtimes were strictly enforced, with notices up warning us what would happen if we disobeyed and went in early (we didn’t dare!). However, the food was good.

There is Bingo in the evenings, which I managed to avoid. I went to my room instead and made use of the fact that there is free Wifi on all floors.

One of the ladies on our coach who had booked a single room and had paid the supplement for a room overlooking the loch was disappointed to find when we got there that there are no single rooms with sea views, only double rooms.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from the Croit Anna hotel in Inverness. The hotel isn't new showing signs of wear and tear. However it is a budget hotel with stunning views in a beautiful setting. The staff were excellent as was the food and the service. Prior to going I read some terrible reviews for the Croit Anna and now to be perfectly honest I think that they are made by beer people with Champaign taste. We went with Edinburgh based Thistle Tours who are a new Edinburgh based company and they were excellent. The coach driver Frank was an absolute star.

Room Tip: Did not use fitness centre nor did it have a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sapper795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Depending on who your coach driver is makes a big difference to the holiday. Our Alfa coach driver was from South Wales and in his own words "totally blind to the area"- great start to a holiday. The hotel was fine but the organization was very regimental especially as to meal times. Three miles out of town on a busy road its good that taxis only charge £6 into town as buses often run a little late. Scotland in autumn was amazing and travelling by coach is a great way to enjoy the views. Oban was lovely - shame a full day out was reduced to a couple of hours and the coach was very cold on boarding and took ages to warm up.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesCape5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. durham england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

such a lovely relaxed break,staff very informative and helpful,patricia our waitress at meals was delightful,hotel spotless, meals very good and an excellent choice.the area itself is beautiful and within reach of so much history,the view of loch linney is wonderful.

Room Tip: would have liked a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patCo_DurhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My stay at the Hotel was very enjoyable, very friendly, helpful staff, excellent value for money, but mostly, for returning my costume jewellery, which had fallen behind the case rack, at the Hotel.
I thought I had forgotten to bring with me, when I wanted to wear a necklace on holiday, till when I returned home, and it was missing.The jewellery was not of great money value, but very sentimental value, so I was so pleased to have it back, Thank you.
Regards Josie Byles

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is situated on right beside Loch Linnhe. The view is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are very clean, and the staff extremely helpful, the receptionist helpd me with my heavy bags up to my room.

The food is nice traditional Scottish fair, which was a welcome break from all the fast food rubbish in Glasgow. Nice fish and tatties.

Breakfast was really wonderful, first time ever I had fish for breakfast, although I was overwhelmed by choice of a 3 course menu for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seustace2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Property: Croit Anna Hotel
Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing