We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the holiday stench”
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed August 19, 2013

i made the unfortunate mistake in paying upfront plus extra for a room with a view.The receptionist's idea of a view differs greatly from mine. I arrived an hour early and the receptionist steered me to a dismal smelly miserable lounge. The foyer stunk to the high heavens but not as bad as the repulsive smell in the gents. I slept in the clothes i arrived in because i didnt want any part of the bed linen touching me. The breakfast wasnt as bad as i had imagined but i will certainly not consider this place ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roamingaround53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 371 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

The only reasonably good things about this hotel is the view from the front and the staff. The hotel could do with demolition. I praise the staff for working in such conditions. Even a cold breakfast was served warm. If anything better is available when you're looking for accommodation in Fort William, take it. Cheap 'n' Nasty.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a stay at he hotel for one night , lucky it was only one night as it turned out to be an overpriced run down motel .
The general decor is tired and very basic , very very noisey creaking floors everywhere ensured we had a terrible nights sleep as you could hear every move and most of the conversation from the people staying upstairs even though I'm sure they didnt realise the hotel has no soundproofing !.

We finally managed to get a few hours sleep after using toilet paper to make earplugs but even that couldn't stop us being woken by the coaches and people shouting outside to each other.

We didn't expect a plush hotel for £91 a night but we did expect to be able to get a good sleep and leave refreshed not wound up and tired .
Avoid at all costs unless you are deaf & have very low expectations .

Room Tip: Don't bother try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a small hotel 2 star and this is what you get. If you wanted 4/5 star then you will not find it in Fort William and I think the prices reflect the hotel. Overall it is clean, friendly and what you would expect. The staff also helped me at any opportunity, even ironing my kilt for the wedding!! I enjoyed the traditional breakfast, something I miss in Dubai, so well done everyone, from the Manageress down to the housekeeping.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaview, beautiful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel chosen last minute based on price. Hotel very tired. Smelly toilets, appalling Sunday morning. Breakfast very ordinary, brought back unpleasant memories of seventies boarding school. Porridge a particular lowlight, toast cold and soggy. Only 1 hr window for breakfast and given hurry up at end. Doors and carpets sticky to touch. Couldnt recommend it at all it at all. Beds, showers and TV fine and free but slightly intermittent WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garydefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The room was very good if a bit creaky, bed was okay, clean and tidy, breakfast was good, staff helpful and friendly, this hotel should be more than a two star. The view from the room was simply stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The good points the reception staff and the waiting staff were excellent very friendly and the service we received at breakfast was fast and efficient. Breakfasts were adequate and I honestly can't criticise anything about it. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening so can't comment on evening meals. Our room had a lovely view overlooking the loch and and was very clean and tidy. It was cleaned daily and we had no problems with getting clean towels - if you left the dirt ones in the bath then they replaced them. This was clearly explained in the hotel literature that was in the room.

There was damp smell throughout the reception and lounge which was not pleasant. I can only hazard a guess that they had had a burst pipe or similar and I'm sure it will be rectified.

Not so good - dinner was served between 7 - 8pm which was too early for us hence why we never ate in the hotel. The hotel seems to thrive mainly on bus parties and it seemed that once dinner was finished the entertainment started in the lounge bar - adjoining the dining room. Now I can understand that they want to provide entertainment for those on the bus parties but not everyone wants to sit in a lounge and listed to bingo being called out or rather loud country and western singing. This being the case a quiet drink when you came back in the evening was out of the question!

The hotel is a good two miles from the town centre which is not a problem if you have a car and as others have mentioned there is a bus and taxis are available.

If you simply want a hotel as a base in or around Fort William then the Croit Anna is more than suitable (I would not recommend it if you had kids. We have stayed in 3 star hotels where the service and cleanliness was a lot worse.

Room Tip: Front of hotel over looking loch on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
891 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $78 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing