We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Last Resort Resort”
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Last Resort Resort”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The only reasonably good things about this hotel is the view from the front and the staff. The hotel could do with demolition. I praise the staff for working in such conditions. Even a cold breakfast was served warm. If anything better is available when you're looking for accommodation in Fort William, take it. Cheap 'n' Nasty.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    99
    75
    29
    36
See reviews for
39
113
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a stay at he hotel for one night , lucky it was only one night as it turned out to be an overpriced run down motel .
The general decor is tired and very basic , very very noisey creaking floors everywhere ensured we had a terrible nights sleep as you could hear every move and most of the conversation from the people staying upstairs even though I'm sure they didnt realise the hotel has no soundproofing !.

We finally managed to get a few hours sleep after using toilet paper to make earplugs but even that couldn't stop us being woken by the coaches and people shouting outside to each other.

We didn't expect a plush hotel for £91 a night but we did expect to be able to get a good sleep and leave refreshed not wound up and tired .
Avoid at all costs unless you are deaf & have very low expectations .

Room Tip: Don't bother try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a small hotel 2 star and this is what you get. If you wanted 4/5 star then you will not find it in Fort William and I think the prices reflect the hotel. Overall it is clean, friendly and what you would expect. The staff also helped me at any opportunity, even ironing my kilt for the wedding!! I enjoyed the traditional breakfast, something I miss in Dubai, so well done everyone, from the Manageress down to the housekeeping.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaview, beautiful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel chosen last minute based on price. Hotel very tired. Smelly toilets, appalling Sunday morning. Breakfast very ordinary, brought back unpleasant memories of seventies boarding school. Porridge a particular lowlight, toast cold and soggy. Only 1 hr window for breakfast and given hurry up at end. Doors and carpets sticky to touch. Couldnt recommend it at all it at all. Beds, showers and TV fine and free but slightly intermittent WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garydefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The room was very good if a bit creaky, bed was okay, clean and tidy, breakfast was good, staff helpful and friendly, this hotel should be more than a two star. The view from the room was simply stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The good points the reception staff and the waiting staff were excellent very friendly and the service we received at breakfast was fast and efficient. Breakfasts were adequate and I honestly can't criticise anything about it. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening so can't comment on evening meals. Our room had a lovely view overlooking the loch and and was very clean and tidy. It was cleaned daily and we had no problems with getting clean towels - if you left the dirt ones in the bath then they replaced them. This was clearly explained in the hotel literature that was in the room.

There was damp smell throughout the reception and lounge which was not pleasant. I can only hazard a guess that they had had a burst pipe or similar and I'm sure it will be rectified.

Not so good - dinner was served between 7 - 8pm which was too early for us hence why we never ate in the hotel. The hotel seems to thrive mainly on bus parties and it seemed that once dinner was finished the entertainment started in the lounge bar - adjoining the dining room. Now I can understand that they want to provide entertainment for those on the bus parties but not everyone wants to sit in a lounge and listed to bingo being called out or rather loud country and western singing. This being the case a quiet drink when you came back in the evening was out of the question!

The hotel is a good two miles from the town centre which is not a problem if you have a car and as others have mentioned there is a bus and taxis are available.

If you simply want a hotel as a base in or around Fort William then the Croit Anna is more than suitable (I would not recommend it if you had kids. We have stayed in 3 star hotels where the service and cleanliness was a lot worse.

Room Tip: Front of hotel over looking loch on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have just come back from a weeks holiday at this hotel and after reading some of the reviews I was very surprised. We were welcomed by the manager who was really friendly and we were quickly booked in. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. Our room was at the front and we had a small veranda overlooking the Loch. The waiting on staff were very good and the food was excellent. Some other reviewers had complained of small portions but there was plenty for us and we're not tiny eaters. Our waiter was from Bulgaria and he was really pleasant and asked if we wanted any extra toast or vegetables. The entertainment was for the middle aged to elderly age group. It was mainly 60's, country, and traditional Scottish music. My husband and myself enjoyed it very much. Bar prices were average for a hotel and the bar had a wide variety of drinks on offer. My only gripe is that the hotel is two miles from town and it cost £6 each way in a taxi. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and the buses run every hour. Overall we were looked after as well here as in a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Property: Croit Anna Hotel
Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing