We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good short break”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed January 8, 2011

2 night stay booked via late rooms. we had a superior room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel with a great view.

room was a decent size as was the bed but the bed was VERY hard. lovely and warm room given the cold weather outside. nice good size bathroom with very hot water and excellent water pressure in both bath and the shower. mineral water in rooms on both days which is a nice touch as often hotels only leave water on the first night.

breakfast was meant to be a buffet but probably because it was just after the festive season was held in the Food Stop and was from a menu except for cereal and fruit juice. breakfast was ok but nothing special.

we didnt eat in the restaurant but decided to get two cans of Irn Bru to take up to our room on our 2nd day there - bad move as the cost was £3.90 making a can £1.95 which is a bit of a rip off considering you can get a whisky in some local pubs for around £2.00 (if that's your thing!)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_celie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet place to put your head on a pillow, friendly service and good food I recommend this hotel. Located just off the main street this hotel gives you access to loads of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My partner and I had the misfortune to be booked into the Alexandra Hotel in Fortwilliam as part of an organised tour of the West Highlands. Trust me, if we had booked this hotel ourselves I would have checked out and gone elsewhere. For those old enough to remember Crossroads Motel from the TV program, this is it in real life except we are in 2010 not 1985!! We were expecting to see Miss Diane and Benny at any moment!! In our room the carpet was frayed, the wallpaper limp and the bathroom needed euthanasia. The cleanlieness was low to adequate. The creaking pipes kept us awake all night and the beds were fitted with rough sheets and prickly blankets instead of duvets.

We wanted a nightcap and as it was only 10:45pm we decided to go to the hotel bar and see what single malts they had. When we asked the barman to serve us he wouldn't as he had already cashed up and couldn't take our money. When I explained to him we were resident he still wouldn't serve us as we were departing before 8am the next morning and they couldn't deal with transactions that early...

We are not writing this review to be deliberately negative, we are just being factual and saying how it was in our particular experience. A really disappointing stay and I hope never to set foot in the place again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reeverbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed one night on a business trip. The location is good and convenient to the railway station. Customer service at reception, the bar and the restaurant were all excellent. The room was a little cramped but quite comfortable and spotlessly clean. Spectacular view out the window! Dinner in the restaurant was very good for the price and highlighted a lot of local produce. The buffet breakfast was also very good. There was some maintenance work going on but this did not cause inconvenience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldMac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The reception staff were so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much bother. our room was well appointed and had everything we required.
Fort William is a great base to explore the Scottish Highlands with local amenities near bay. when you stay in the Alexandra you have access the spa in it's sister hotel nearby. Well worth a visit.

The bar and the restaurant served fantastic food and nothing was too much bother for any member of staff.
We had a great break and did not want to leave. Thanks to all

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Recently on a driving tour of the western Highlands we found ourselves exhausted and needing a night in comfort. Having enjoyed lunch downstairs we checked into the Alexandra Hotel for one night. Woken by drunken revellers or kept awake by the hotels advertising lights through ill fitted blinds we left dissatisfied and feeling ripped off. The hotle had cool water at 8am as one of the European bus tours had obviously exhausted the meagre supplies. Our room floo sloped so that you felt you mightve been at sea although the decor was pleasant. Breakfast was a 70's throwback and tea comes in one flavour!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Hotel room was excellent with a great view.I believe the hotel is in the process of an ongoing rolling refurbishment program from which certain areas such as the stairways and corridors are needing upgraded although still are clean.
Staff are friendly and polite.
The crowning glory for me was the breakfast.Lots of cooked food,cereals and fruit,served gantry style with very efficient waitress service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
617 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $74 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing