We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,344)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveler rating
308
535
312
122
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
308
535
312
122
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lift buffet style railway station bit dated high street central location haggis lovely hotel reception staff superior room public areas breakfast and dinner coach tour plenty of hot water the jacobite steam train town centre black pudding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Hotel room was right for 55 pounds a night, clean, big shower with bath and comfortable bed. Reception was lovely, bistro staff were rude, told me to go to the bar myself, bartender was surly, food was awful, go to and Mc Donald’s if you can.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Voici U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm happy to read you found our rooms comfortable and thank you for your lovely comment about our receptionist.

Please be assured that we welcome all forms of feedback, and I have since passed on your comments regarding your dining experience to all relevant departments.

We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the not so distant future.



With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

This hotel is in the perfect location, right across from the train & bus stations. A lovely hotel with old style decor. We choose a room with a four poster bed to give us a little added luxury to our weekend, and we weren't disapppointed. It was a lovely room with a huge bed and great views over the water. The amenitites offered in the room were great too. The hotel staff were very welcoming & helpful. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice of hot & cold food. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and would come back ourselves too.

Room tip: room with the four poster bed if you fancy a little extra luxury
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your wonderful five star review!

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff contributed to an amazing stay.

Your kind words regarding your breakfast experience and your room are appreciated.
And your lovely comments about our staff have been passed on to all departments for feedback.

Thank you once again for taking the time review your stay, and we do hope to welcome you back soon.


With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Nothing great to say about the Alexandra except for its location. The sheets in our room were dirty and the hotel as a whole was not well kept. The breakfast was poor, and overall the stay left a lot to be desired.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are proud of amount of feedback we receive about cleanliness of rooms and our breakfast therefore I'm disappointed to hear it was not what you had expected.

Please be assured that I have noted your comments and these will form part of our regular reviews as it is our aim to ensure that our guests and visitors have the best experience possible.

We would love to welcome you back again in the future to show you our commitment towards continual improvement.



With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

I stayed here with a group of walkers after completing the 3 Peaks Challenge in reverse. The staff were friendly welcoming and helpful, even opening up the bar for a well deserved drink after a late finish on the mountain. Our room was clean, modern and well appointed with comfortable beds and a great shower and bath. Breakfast in the morning was a traditional Scottish fry-up, but very well done. The reception staff in particular were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank georgetig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Alexandra Hotel!

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and thank you for your comments about our rooms. I will definitely pass on your compliments to the relevant departments.

What a pleasure to read that are staff made you feel welcome and you found them friendly and helpful.
I will happily pass your compliments on and I am sure they will be delighted to hear them.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!



With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Ideal location, old style hotel, room was comfortable and clean, supposed to be superior twin, Room 315, had an awful view into a back area populated by pigeons and drifting smells from kitchen but we were only there one night, staff friendly but only spoke to reception, breakfast staff seemed uninterested in guests, breakfast was tasty,didn’t eat there at night. Wouldn’t rush back £117 B & B
Common areas need a good overhaul

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreyMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Alexandra Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our rooms comfortable.

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast and friendly staff!
Please be assured that I have passed on your comments to our teams.

Thank you once again for taking the time review your stay, and we do hope to welcome you back in future.



With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews