We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveler rating
305
533
309
122
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
305
533
309
122
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lift buffet style railway station bit dated high street central location haggis lovely hotel reception staff superior room public areas breakfast and dinner coach tour plenty of hot water the jacobite steam train town centre black pudding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2019

One night stay for the trip on The Jacobite Train.
Ideally situated for the station and amenities.
We received a warm welcome and as the room wasn't ready reception kept our luggage to allow us to venture out.
On returning,the room was ready and luggage taken upstairs.
Room was good,clean and comfortable.
WiFi was good and tea/coffee available also.
Choice of breakfast was excellent and plentiful and found the staff very good.
Wouldn't hesitate returning in the future.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanzatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

Your positive and kind words have been passed on to all departments for feedback.

It was a pleasure having you stay, and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

Firstly electric sockets are hard to find and when you do they are too few and difficult to access. The kettle provided had to be on the floor in a cramped room. I’m not sure what health and safety would say but we thought this was highly dangerous. For the first two days our room smelt of deep heat. WiFi is chargeable in the room but it didn’t work downstairs so what was the point in buying it too. Breakfast is ok but I asked for marmalade 3 days running and they’d just run out each time. The room was also extremely hot with no temperature control and the window only opened 3 inches. On the plus side staff were nice and the location is good

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

I was sorry to learn that your stay was not what you had expected, nor what we strive to achieve.

Just to pick up on a few things, Wi-Fi up stairs does have a charge unless you book direct with us, but we do have free Wi-Fi downstairs.

I'm sorry to hear that you had problems with your room, if you had let us know we could of tried to move you to another, but all our windows only open that far due to health and safety. I will however go an have a look at the kettle situation as you are correct we shouldn't have them used on the floor.

we would love to welcome you back again in the future to show you our commitment towards continual improvement.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Deputy General Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

We both ordered roast dinner followed by sticky toffee pudding. The food was very tasty and the service was good. The beef was a little overcooked for our liking. Although clean, the Bistro could do with a refurb and update. Reasonably priced meal and average size portions.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 168joanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon


We appreciate all forms of feedback as this allows us to identify any areas for improvement and I thank you again for highlighting the concerns you experienced and we would love to welcome you back again in the future to show you our commitment towards continual improvement.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, they have certainly been passed on for you.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

This is very much a 3 star hotel. In many ways the building is tired. Floor boards creak noisily. Reception staff helpful. Room was on the small side. Meals were adequate although waiting staff were poor. Very brusque talking to guests. Did not keep the breakfast Bar well stocked. Asked to order a drink, waiter never came to take the order.
Overall a very convenient position and provided adequate accommodation. Would stay again

Room tip: With aview if possible
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Evening

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

May I firstly apologise that your stay with us had it problems.

Please be assured that I have noted your comments and these will form part of our regular reviews as it is our aim to ensure that our guests and visitors have the best experience possible when either staying or dinning with us.

Thank you again and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Hotel has been undergoing some renovations, there’s a new lift and the bathrooms in the rooms are very nice. The rooms themselves are ok but could also do with a refresh, guess that’s next on their list. Breakfast was good, evening meal was ok but good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank segawidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

I am happy to hear that you like our renovations that we have started in some of our rooms and lift, this is just part of our refurbishment program that we have on going here at the Alexandra Hotel.

We do take great pride in our Scottish breakfast, as it’s a great start to the day ahead.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews