We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced- in need of revamp” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Leeds
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced- in need of revamp”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Beeing greeted by grafitti in the lift isn't the best start to a stay at a hotel. It got worse from there: freezing shower, wi fi not working, breakfast cold, restaurant manager rude. Upon complaining we were offered £30 off the £89 bill. £89 to stay here is a complete rip off.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    384
    198
    83
    45
See reviews for
172
400
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston lancs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

hi stopped on friday 21st May. arrived at 22.00 got keys no fuss . great room very clean , went out of a few pints in town . Breakfast good quality exept the black pudding (Soggy) but other wise good. staff not to intrusive ans just watch the friendly drunk who hangs around the front of the hotel at night blagging fags off guest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ry40uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed here with a group of friends for the weekend, although the rooms were a little dated and shabby round the edges they were large, comfortable and well equipped with a good shower in the en-suite. We payed £90 a night for a triple room with breakfast which seemed like excellent value.

The bar, and particularly the bar staff, were great and couldn't have been more accommodating. The hotel restaurant was excellent; good food, generous portions and great value for money. The breakfast was very also comprehensive with a decent selection to choose from and good value as it was included in the room price.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends who were travelling to Fort William, while there may be more suitable place for a romantic break this place is ideal for friends or groups who all wish to stay together in comfortable surroundings. You also get free use of the leisure facilities and swimming pool at the sister hotel just up the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Stayed in room 125 for 2 nights. Nice hotel, very central for all amenities and attractions.
Very popular hotel.
Nice breakfast, and dining area/bar for evening meal. We where given one of the newly refurbished rooms, which was nicely decorated.
Staff very friendly, no problems, would recommend this hotel. p.s. you can use the leisure facilities of the Ben Nevis hotel which belongs to the same group, approx 1 mile away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglaspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Nice, traditional hotel located in the centre of Fort William. If you are booking this hotel ask to stay in one of the refurbished rooms which are very nice. The hotel has free wifi and they do fabulous packed lunches! The restaurant and breakfast areas are a bit old fashioned and home to a lot of coach tours but the hotel is generally quite comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope_Pitstop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

With full English breakfast
Fully satisfied, Nothing to complain

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

what can i say, but i was very dissapointed in this hotel.
as soon as we arrived at reception i knew there was something different, the receptionist seemed rather abrupt, but , could this have been due to my making my booking independant, it seems to me that if you book through a tour company you are treated better.
however, to carry on,the room we had was great, clean and comfortable, the toilet and shower were spotless, but was on the inside of the hotel and looked out onto the roof of of another part of the building, so we had no view whatever, the hotel decor could do with a spruce up in some areas and the bar prices ( and restaurant ) could do with being a bit more reasonable. it cost me £52 for dinner, that did include a bottle of wine at £13.95
when we went for our dinner in the foodstop restaurant, i ordered soup and my wife prawn cocktail, when they arrived i had to ask for a soup spoon my wife used the utensils that were there ( a fish knife and fork ) my main course was chicken and had to be sent back to get the chicken warmed up...not a good start to our weekend. we did not dine there the following night.
there was no entertainment on fri night and the "entertainment" on the saturday it was something else and can only be described as rather emmmm, quiet.
these are the things that make or break a holiday but, overall we did enjoy our stay though, this was nothing to do with the hotel, this was to do with ourselves.
would i go back?.....hmmm, i would have to think about that, would i recommend it to a friend?....i think i would.....but through a tour company.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing