We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

in fort William there is little to choose from for ordinary food. The Alexandra fits the bill for good ordinary Scottish fare. The menu had a good range of items and good value. The staff serving us were friendly and helpful and had we chosen too we could have stayed on a bit longer and had some free entertainment (Friday night, April 2014)

It was so good we went back on the second night and had the Scottish seafood platter between us as a starter - delicious and filling

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind words on the Foodstop restaurant, we are particularly proud of the quality of the food that our team of chefs provide, backed up by our waiting staff, given the wide range of choice on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    384
    198
    83
    45
See reviews for
172
400
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in hotel for three nights mid week. Bedroom and bathroom fitting were a bit tired, but all very clean. All towels were replaced/clean daily without asking. Three breakfasts were all excellent, and the two evening meals in the public restaurant were both very good. This is a busy hotel with coach tours, but plenty of staff who are very efficient, courteous and helpful. Although the room we stayed in was a bit tired, the hotel overall was very comfortable and a pleasant place to be.
Would stay again if in the area, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Phone and speak to friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cped31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, our staff team in all areas of the hotel, take pride in their work, so your recognition of them is greatly appreciated, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Reading other negative reviews and you would never stay here. However my experience was completely different. I recently stayed for one night whilst visiting the area and had a very good modern room with a superb shower. Staff were friendly and the breakfast had excellent choices. I drank in the bar and had an excellent evening listening to the live music.

Only minus point for me that prevents me from giving the full 5 points is that the wi-fi was a little hit and miss.

All in all, a wonderful stay and I hope to return. Ignore all the bad reviews and make your own mind up. I had room 104 and paid only £49.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davefel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you, Dave, for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed elsewhere in Fort William but went to The Alexandra Hotel for an evening meal and drinks.
We were seated quickly despite it being fairly busy. We had two courses and the food was really great. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal which I thought was excellent value for money. We then decided to go to the bar for a few drinks afterwards. Not long after we sat down, there was a power cut! And it actually made the night for us! The staff were great - they kept us informed about what was going on, they put out candles and the band that was due to perform entertained us with traditional Scottish music. It was a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels my family have ever stayed in. However the breakfast was ok!

Room was disgusting, reminder of an old seventies bedroom. Bathroom was like a step back in time with a shower over the bath from the seventies. Bedding - bedspread was all stained and needed a deep cleanse or burned completely. Scatchy thin orange blanket. Beds were so old the springs could be felt in my back. Carpets were threadbare not only in the bedroom but also in the corridors and dining room.

If you have a choice DON'T book it! The hotel had a fire alarm go off at 5.30am, no one to guide us down from the fourth floor. Health and safety is non existent here, when we evacuated the hotel to the car park, there were no staff members or direction where to stand. No one advised us when to go back in to the hotel, everyone just went back in. Although it was a false alarm caused by a selfish smoker, smoking in their room, there was no sign of the fire brigade!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out to post a report of your stay with us, and I sincerely apologise that we did not live up to your expectations. The Alexandra hotel is over 100 years old and we do have a continuous refurbishment program and so some rooms may be a few years behind.

With respect to the Fire alarm at 5:30 in the morning we have a very strict health and safety code, and there is detailed signage regarding evacuation procedures in each of the rooms. At that time of the morning there is the night porter who was busy ascertaining the cause of the alarm, and on finding smokers illegally smoking in their room decided that no fire brigade was needed. He then was on hand to tell people that it was a false alarm with apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel was a bit dated and tired in decor but all in all considering the price- was clean, staff helpful and friendly and was a good base for exploring the area. The breakfasts were also very good and had very good parking facilities for our big group

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pausanias67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 night's at the Alexandra. Fantastic as a base for exploring surrounding areas.. The staff were very polite and helpful. They were always kept busy in the food stop restaurant. The hotel was quite dated but was clean and comfortable. I would be very happy to stay here again. Lynne from Glenrothes Fife

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you Lynne, for your kind words, it is greatly appreciated and we wish you and your husband congratulations and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing