We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, very good food.”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, very good food.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in hotel for three nights mid week. Bedroom and bathroom fitting were a bit tired, but all very clean. All towels were replaced/clean daily without asking. Three breakfasts were all excellent, and the two evening meals in the public restaurant were both very good. This is a busy hotel with coach tours, but plenty of staff who are very efficient, courteous and helpful. Although the room we stayed in was a bit tired, the hotel overall was very comfortable and a pleasant place to be.
Would stay again if in the area, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Phone and speak to friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cped31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, our staff team in all areas of the hotel, take pride in their work, so your recognition of them is greatly appreciated, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    404
    214
    86
    48
See reviews for
181
421
83
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Reading other negative reviews and you would never stay here. However my experience was completely different. I recently stayed for one night whilst visiting the area and had a very good modern room with a superb shower. Staff were friendly and the breakfast had excellent choices. I drank in the bar and had an excellent evening listening to the live music.

Only minus point for me that prevents me from giving the full 5 points is that the wi-fi was a little hit and miss.

All in all, a wonderful stay and I hope to return. Ignore all the bad reviews and make your own mind up. I had room 104 and paid only £49.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davefel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you, Dave, for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed elsewhere in Fort William but went to The Alexandra Hotel for an evening meal and drinks.
We were seated quickly despite it being fairly busy. We had two courses and the food was really great. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal which I thought was excellent value for money. We then decided to go to the bar for a few drinks afterwards. Not long after we sat down, there was a power cut! And it actually made the night for us! The staff were great - they kept us informed about what was going on, they put out candles and the band that was due to perform entertained us with traditional Scottish music. It was a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels my family have ever stayed in. However the breakfast was ok!

Room was disgusting, reminder of an old seventies bedroom. Bathroom was like a step back in time with a shower over the bath from the seventies. Bedding - bedspread was all stained and needed a deep cleanse or burned completely. Scatchy thin orange blanket. Beds were so old the springs could be felt in my back. Carpets were threadbare not only in the bedroom but also in the corridors and dining room.

If you have a choice DON'T book it! The hotel had a fire alarm go off at 5.30am, no one to guide us down from the fourth floor. Health and safety is non existent here, when we evacuated the hotel to the car park, there were no staff members or direction where to stand. No one advised us when to go back in to the hotel, everyone just went back in. Although it was a false alarm caused by a selfish smoker, smoking in their room, there was no sign of the fire brigade!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out to post a report of your stay with us, and I sincerely apologise that we did not live up to your expectations. The Alexandra hotel is over 100 years old and we do have a continuous refurbishment program and so some rooms may be a few years behind.

With respect to the Fire alarm at 5:30 in the morning we have a very strict health and safety code, and there is detailed signage regarding evacuation procedures in each of the rooms. At that time of the morning there is the night porter who was busy ascertaining the cause of the alarm, and on finding smokers illegally smoking in their room decided that no fire brigade was needed. He then was on hand to tell people that it was a false alarm with apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel was a bit dated and tired in decor but all in all considering the price- was clean, staff helpful and friendly and was a good base for exploring the area. The breakfasts were also very good and had very good parking facilities for our big group

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pausanias67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 night's at the Alexandra. Fantastic as a base for exploring surrounding areas.. The staff were very polite and helpful. They were always kept busy in the food stop restaurant. The hotel was quite dated but was clean and comfortable. I would be very happy to stay here again. Lynne from Glenrothes Fife

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you Lynne, for your kind words, it is greatly appreciated and we wish you and your husband congratulations and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay in this hotel ,it was very clean and comfortable,a bit tired and dated in places but this didn't spoil our stay .The breakfast was excellent and the set menu in the evening was tasty .The best thing about this hotel were the staff everyone ,very pleasant and helpful and this made our stay enjoyable ,would return thank you all .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moanrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, we are particularly proud of our staff team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing