We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmanay 4 night stay”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the most wonderful stay. From the moment my husband and I arrived, the staff, without exception were friendly and very helpful.
Where to begin? The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and well serviced every day. It was quiet at night even though there were about 150 people enjoying the celebrations for three nights running. The dinners and the entertainments were fantastically well organised and the food very good indeed. New. Year's Eve was an excellent mix of performances by the band, traditional Scottish music and dancing, mixed with ballroom and jive etc. we would love to spend New Year there again next year. I came home so relaxed! Thanks to all at the Alexandra! Jenifer

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the 4th floor at the rear of the hotel. A big room, with good bathroom fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you, Jenifer, for your feedback. Hogmanay is a great time to relax and celebrate for the year past and a time to look forward to the year ahead, we wish you a relaxing and prosperous 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were here for the New Year we have been coming to this hotel for 12 year now. The check in was straight forward and quick staff very pleasant nothing was a bother to any of the staff they made everyone feel at home. Food was really good plenty to choose from at the buffet breakfast it was kept well stocked and kept nice and warm .Table service at dinner at night good choice here as well. entertainment was very good The rooms were of a good standard well cleaned plenty of fresh towels daily also plenty of tea coffee hot chocolate milk and shortbread more in reception if needed. Great having free WiFi in public areas. A big thanks to Brian Hume and all his staff.

Room Tip: Only 4 floors on this hotel although the lift is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDG1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to hosting you for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed from 23rd December to 2nd January and was most impressed by the wonderful helpful and ever cheerful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them, and they look after each person as though they were a VIP and had that important knack of making you feel valued as a guest. My room was comfortable, immaculate and warm. The entertainment provided over Christmas and the New Year was superb - particularly Paula, who really is unparalleled in her energy. The food was OK, but the choice was a bit limited, but with such a large hotel filled to capacity, it was understandable that it was necessary to limit the menu. The breakfast was incredible - with a huge choice and constantly kept refreshed and the menu available for that was definitely not limited at all. I did feel that there were too many coach parties over New Year, as the dining room was overcrowded for the evenings of that section of the holiday, but Hogmanay was most certainly everything anyone could hope for as a Highland Hogmanay, and the staff excelled themselves in the level of service they provided. I shall certainly be happy to recommend the Alexandra hotel. Free Wi-Fi, and even a computer available for guests use was a big plus (in fact, had there been no Wi-Fi I would not have gone there, as being alone I just have to keep in touch with all my friends). The only thing I would love to see improved is to have had Wi-Fi in the bedrooms and not only in the public rooms. Thanks to Chris, Brian, Val and all the staff for a wonderful 'first time alone at Christmas' experience. I shall not spend another Christmas alone at home from now on.

Room Tip: Level 4 was very quiet, and with a lift, it was not a problem. Would not have been able to manage st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Your feedback is greatly appreciated, thank you. Christmas and New Year are not times to be alone and we are certainly pleased that you chose to spend the time with us. Our staff team are like one big family and we strive to give the home from home experience to you and all of our guests. Wishing you and all of our guests all the best for 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I took took my parents on a Hogmanay bus trip to this hotel , rooms fine, food bountiful but the staff were the jewels in the crown. They were a credit to their employer, nothing was to much trouble. They could not be more helpful; they were friendly, accommodating and cheerful .

The Hogmanay bash was exceptional; pipers, dancers , young fiddle and accordion players ... what more could one want for new years eve in Scotland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

For your kind words, especially about our staff a big thank you, we are particularly proud of our staff team. All of us at the hotel would like to wish you and all of our guests a wonderful, prosperous and joyful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here from the 23rd to the 27th December. The check in process was simple and information about the restaurant times etc was provided. Ok the hotel decor is a little worn and dated in places but its clean, tidy and warm with fresh towels and room servicing daily - what more do you need? There was always plenty of hot water for the bathroom and there are complimentary toiletries. There is nose from adjoining rooms at times but this is the case in many hotels. The majority of staff are great whilst some are outright hopeless - one or two are seemingly unable to take an order for Tea and toast correctly or use an ounce of common sense. This is however a minor niggle as the food is great - unbelievably good value for what you pay and there is bags of choice. I don't know how they do it so cheaply. The hotel is located in a great Central position for exploring the West Highlands and is very handy for local shops. Also you can use the spa facilities at the nearby Ben Nevis Hotel free of charge. Overall if you are looking for luxury this isn't for you but if you after a great value for money stay with great food then you can't go far wrong here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chillibird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we have taken note of your comments. The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years, and being an old hotel, we do have an ongoing refurbishment program which will be addressing the issues you have raised. Your “minor niggle” has been addressed through our customer awareness on the job training program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel overnight for a wedding. at £79 inc breakfast the day at short notice we found this pretty reasonable and the pictures looked very nice. The hotel is situated next to the train station which is the main source of transport into Fort William. We required an early check in which many other hotels were not willing to accommodate but a quick call to the Alexandra, or the Alex as it is known locally, sorted that out right away. That's not the only time they went beyond the call of duty to help us out! The hotel itself is an older building and the style is very homely. The room had a nice view of FW from the 4th floor and was very clean. We had travelled a long way on not much sleep so ordered up some breakfast which was great and when we ate our breakfast the next day which was included in the package it was buffet style but the food remained of a good standard and staff were always checking up on tables ensuring everyone was alright. Check out was 11am, our train scheduled at 11.40am so all fine we thought however the train tickets were booked for in 4 days advance!! The hotel were more than willing to let us sleep in the room free of charge for a while to help us recover from the night before's festivities and gave us great advice as to how to get back down the road ASAP without breaking the bank. To round up, great staff at a lovely old hotel and although we only stayed 1 night I will be booking if ever in Fort William again, hopefully for a longer stay with much much better weather!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hibees1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for the feedback, I will pass on your comments to the to my staff team for which I know they will be grateful. Hope you had a good train journey back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times for a lot of years and it is always a pleasure to
go . Accomodation is great , the food really good , and the staff really welcoming . It doesn't
matter what the Scottish weather does you will always be made to feel at home . We would
not go anywhere else .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $74 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing