We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for weekend stay.”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Old fashioned hotel, ideally situated across from rail and bus links. We were fortunate that it was beautifully decorated for Christmas, which added to the lovely welcoming atmosphere of the hotel. Our rooms were overlooking the loch and the Christmas lights, magical. They were very clean, and had everything you could expect. I would have given 5 points if it hadn't been for the showers, they were the ones that you pull up for shower and push down for bath, never really worked very well. The crown in this jewel of a hotel are the staff. They were all so pleasant and helpful, made our stay so enjoyable. Finally the food, fantastic breakfast, so much choice, and the hot choices were actually hot. The Food Stop Restuarant was excellent, well cooked and great value meals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your posting, we are particularly proud of our staff team as well as the food. As for the shower, you are right; it is being addressed in our refurbishment program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice hotel, situated right at the top of the main street in fort William. Great food and friendly staff. Unfortunately, it was very obvious that the staff were over worked and undermanned. Too many guests in relation to the amount of staff to serve them. We arrived during a function night and it would appear that the waiting staffddint even expect the function. If you're coming here, make sure there isn't a function on at t same time! That's if the management even know about it themselves!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotarian1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldepman, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, and please let me apologise for the poor experience that you had with us. As you would be aware December is the time for functions and we are particularly proud of the quality of our functions in the quality of food, customer service and entertainment. I can assure you that as a management team we are very much aware of all functions in both of our restaurants and maintain a high standard. I have, however, looked into the details of your complaint and have already taken corrective action, it is through feedback such as yours that enables us to stay on top of our high standards, so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Staff very attentive. rooms basic but clean. some parts showing its age although some refurbishment is being carried out. would go back again. our room was very warm considering it was November.Breakfast was excellent buffet style with tea/coffee & toast served at the table. All staff were very attentive from the receptionist to the night porter to the waitress/waiters. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments and your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an old fashioned hotel. That is why I like it. I stay here on business so comfort adn friendliness are really important.

The rooms are clean and spacious with everything you expect.

There is plenty of safe off road parking with easy access to the hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful and happy to offer advice on the local area.

The food is wholesome and well cooked. I don't normally eat much but really fancied fish and chips (a treat for me). The fish was the best cooked fish I have ever had. The batter was light and crispy. The fish was moist. Perfect.

This hotel really is a good place to stay if you want simple old fashioned comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauljohnson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again on one of your business trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Rooms dated; the floor in ours slanted enough to make you want to be careful walking to the bathroom. Loud neighbors and hard beds. No on site amenities-we were told to go across town if we wanted a swim or a spa soak. Breakfast was the best thing about the stay.
Travelers from the US-This will run you $200.00 + per night. I recommend a B&B if you can find one-after 5 different hotels and 3 B&B stay-Scottish hotels are just not worth the effort.
It was a Bank Holiday when we stayed at the Alexandra so I will give it an 'average' rating.

Room Tip: no onsite pool or fitness center. Excellent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we have taken note of your comments. The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years, and being an old hotel, we do have an ongoing refurbishment program which will be addressing the issues you have raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having stayed at other Strathmore hotels, this hotel did not disappoint. Staff very friendly in reception and also bar/restaurant. Best breakfast in a long time, replenished regularly with high quality produce

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are particularly proud of our breakfast and food in general, Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Expected a typical coach hotel and was very surprised with the standard of the room. Nicely decorated and the bathroom was spotless with a powerful shower and good sized bath. Public area's are a wee bit tired but this looks like a work in progress. Great location close to the Main Street, railway station and end of the West Highland Way. Breakfast was adequate staff were friendly, polite and genuinely seemed interested that you were enjoying your stay. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSwift14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFortWilliam, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing