We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I read plural, I expect more than one.”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The short of it is, I ordered field stuffed mushrooms - note the s on the end of mushrooms. When the field stuffed mushrooms arrived I was very disappointed to find the mushrooms consisted of one mushroom chopped in half to perhaps make mushrooms, however I don't feel that is correct as it is still only a mushroom. The field stuffed mushroom presented was very small of approximately 3 or 4 cm in diameter. The mushroom was extremely delicious, although were there at the least minimum and maximum 3 mushrooms, I would have considered it a fair and value for money and treat at around £7, that being the cost.
My partners starter was outstanding, he had the Cullen skink in a huge bread bun. I had to wait for at least another 15 minutes after I'd finished my starter for him to eat his astonishing starter. Surely the chef should make equal sized portions, as that's just weird.
Main meal was outstanding and way far too much food that one can eat. I don't like leaving food on my plate especially when it is delicious.
The service I can say was lovely and I really liked our waitress, however the girl that took our payment and tip didn't even bother look at me ir say thank you - not good. I didn't tell my partner that bit as he was already wound up about my mushroom woes.
I would go there again but check what is being offered before commiting to ordering from the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jenxbenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but popped in for a late lunch during our holiday in Fort William. The waitress who served us was helpful and polite, service was prompt and generally can't be faulted.

We had a range of diets within our party including gluten free and vegetarian, and we found the menu provided good choice for all. The reviews of the food around the table were mixed. The toffee and chocolate cheesecake was amazing, and the other desserts were well received. However one diner in our group found their main course was too salty.

I would recommend eating at the Alexandra when out and about in fort William. It is a nice alternative to cafe and pub food, and the service was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hayley-wayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a great time in Fort William. The staff were great & very helpful. Meals were great value. Breakfast amazing... selection second to none...ate far to much most mornings .. FAB ...
There are not many places that accept pets. I have a small dog & she was made very welcome. I would recommend pet owners to pay a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t88th32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked a four day break through easy breaks to celebrate our forty fifth wedding anniversary we decided to book the Alexandra because of its central location and because there is plenty of places you can visit in a day,we booked a club room at extra cost with goodies included being an expert in survival with over forty years experience flowers her favorites were waiting the hotel had provided us with a bottle of perry on a tray with good wishs and a bowl of fruit which was topped up daily togeather with various nibbles and wine sheer heaven ,the hotel in parts could do with some cosmetics granted but it is an old building and its central location was worthwhile the best part without dought as far as we were concerned was that all the staff that we came into contact with was exremely kind helpfull and friendly to be honest it was them that made our stay that little bit special we will if possible go back well done Alexandra.

Room Tip: club room facing north but not near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougandbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was with a little bit of trepidation that we checked in to this hotel after reading some of the trip advisor reviews. In the event we were happy enough with our stay but there can see the reasons why some reviews are less than complimentary. The hotel is ideally located across the road from the station in the centre of the town. Check in was fine, the receptionist could not have been nicer. Payment is made on check in so be prepared. Our room was on the 4th floor which was accessible by a small lift of dubious serviceability - we used the stairs thereafter. Our room was at the side and looked out towards the station. It was a decent size, had a large comfortable bed and was perfectly adequate. The dreaded CRT TV that seem to have caused so much anxiety to previous guests had been replaced with new a flat screen.

There was a complimentary tea/coffee tray and fresh milk was available on request which was a nice touch. There was no mini bar or safe but there was a trouser press (does anyone actually use these contraptions?). The bathroom had seen better days but everything worked whilst the decor throughout was from a different era and not one that many people would want to return to.

We were visiting on the hottest weekend of the year and the room certainly got quite warm. This is rarely a problem in Fort William but having the window open allowed a bit of air to circulate but also let in the noise from the road outside. There is no AC and I wouldn't expect it at even a five star hotel in Scotland.

The public areas of the hotel consist of the restaurant, bar and a couple of lounges. The restaurant did a good buffet breakfast but seemed to be an organisational nightmare for the staff who had to juggle the needs of regular guests and those on tours. It is best that you don't study the furniture, either in the restaurant or the lounges. The chairs are stained from years of (hopefully) breakfast detritus whilst the lounge settees gave up the ghost of being comfortable many years ago. There's free wifi in the area around reception and what looked like free tea and coffee at certain times.

Overall, a nice location, decent sized room and friendly welcome contrasted with the fact that the hotel is badly in need of an upgrade in a many departments.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel en-route to the Isle of Mull and found it to be clean and comfortable with very helpful and friendly staff. It is well located to the town centre shopping area and train station. We were in bedroom 111 on the first floor which was a good size, clean and comfortable with twin beds and overlooking the car park at the back of the hotel. However, we were quite surprised to find that our en-suite bathroom was specially adapted for disabled/wheelchair users, with toilet handrails and a specially large shower cubicle to accommodate a wheelchair as well as a shower seat. Neither my husband nor I are disabled or use a wheelchair and cannot understand why we were given this particular room, although the bathroom itself was very large, clean and acceptable. Therefore, as we were only staying one night we didn't think it worth making a fuss to change rooms. The thing that puzzled us more though was the fact that this room was on the first floor with a lift that was so small, we doubted whether it would accommodate a wheelchair, if it did, then for sure no other person would be able to get in to assist the wheelchair user. Then from the lift there were 2 narrow corridors with 3 narrow doors to negotiate before arriving at Room 111 which was fitted with an extra wide door to accommodate a wheelchair ! Another surprise for us was the television in the room which must be the smallest tele we have ever seen; a large magnifying glass would have come in useful to watch the screen! Fortunately, we weren't bothered about watching tele. If you prefer a room with a view and a standard en-suite with a large screen tele, then take note, this room is not for you.

Room Tip: Room 111 only has a view of the car park at the back of the hotel and has a specially adapted bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnJea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arriving at the Alexandra Hotel we were given a room at the side of the hotel, to start off with it was stuffey as if it had not been opened for weeks, the room and the T/V was something from the 1970s the colour was just there, So it was a quick return to the reception, to ask for another room we were given to sets of keys and asked to look at the rooms both were as bad as the first one, back to reception, another key the 4th, this room up on the 4th floor looked out of the front of the hotel 416, another old t/v but the room was better, so we took it. ( by the end of the week they were bringing in new T/Vs about 50 of them, one was put in our room, amazing a flat screen t/v good picture too.
Food in the restaurant breakfast we were not let in till 8.30am our allotted time, by the dragon on the door, we were with a coach party, but the staff seemed hardly able to cope, always running out of plates, glasses, and some of the food on the buffet breakfast.
Evening meals were better with waiter service, both breakfast and dinner food was not bad.

Room Tip: Look at you room before you accept it. The Hotel needs a good coat of paint and an update, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing