We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel value for money wise in Fort William”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel value for money wise in Fort William”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from an overnight in Fort William. Pre booked Alexandra Hotel before hand so wasn't sure what to expect, Was pleasantly surprised by this 3star hotel. Room we had was quite large with great views towards Loch Linhe and the surrounding hills. Our friend had a single room with a double bed but more than adequate. Hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were lovely and friendly. We decided to eat in the bar and the food was lovely , although service was a little slow but I think this was down to the kitchen rather than the waiting staff. Breakfast was lovely the next morning with loads of choice. The hotel is right in the town centre. Loads of free parking as well.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel they seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    411
    217
    90
    50
See reviews for
181
429
85
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I can honestly say this is the worst hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. Reception great breakfast great.

Room disgusting a throw back to the seventies. Bathroom awful I don't think it has been updated since the seventies. Bedding - bedspread needing throwing on a bonfire I dread to think when it was last washed. Scatchy thin orange blanket. Headboard was so old it still had a radio (not working) in it. Single glazed windows in Scotland!, what a joy waking up in a damp room due to the condensation. Carpets threadbare not only in the bedroom but also in the corridors and dining room.

If I have left you in any doubt DON'T book it - we stayed overnight in the Premier Inn just over the road a week earlier it costs roughly the same and you don't feel the need to wipe your feet clean as you leave!!

Also whomever covered the beautiful leaded glass window on the stairs to the right of reception by fixing obscure glass to it should be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Sunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Alexandra Hotel is a classic Victorian building located about 100m from the Ft William railway station, handy to the High Street, Nevis Ranges Skifields, & Glen Nevis.

Chris & his team turn on a truly Highland hospitality.

Room Tip: Although this classic hotel is unable to accommodate leisure activities, free access is provided clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had dinner at the hotel while staying in a b&b which recommended the restaurant and we were not disappointed.nice decor. Friendly staff and lovely food.If ever in fort William again then definitely would eat here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel while on a Treyn Holiday tour and we would recommend it, the tour and the hotel to any one. The hotel is traditional and not one of these new breed. The food was more than excellent with plenty of choice at each meal. The staff were very friendly and obliging. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410 and found it very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavisidesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for one night in a lovely warm room with a very comortable four poster bed and a view over the water. Staff all very friendly and an excellent breakfast to see us on our way. Great value. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarloEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff good, food good, rooms clean. Handy position for town, plenty of free parking.
A visit to Treasures of the Earth should be on your to do list, staff are very friendly. Also worth a visit is the Glen Nevis Visitor Information Centre, car park and toilets where you can find exotic birds ( only joking) but Robins and Blackbirds will follow you round whilst giving you the sad eye so you will feed them. Saff are so friendly and can't do enough to help you.

Apologies for late posting but we both thought the other had posted the review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
536 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing