We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
united kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good holiday”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

very good hotel,rooms clean and tidy,excursions were good apart from fort william it self not a lot to do there 1hour is enough more than that boring,oban was very good,entertainment was ok on mon/tues best nights were wed/thurs, food not to bad nice choice had a good holiday

Room Tip: we had the 2nd floor with a view of the loc was very good no fitness centre that didnt bother us lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magiclady321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review, it’s good to see you had a good holiday and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    228
    114
    52
    25
See reviews for
54
312
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Caledonian Hotel,Fort William from 4th to 8th Feb 2013 as part of our Shearings coach trip.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable. TV, radio & teamaking facilities in all rooms.
beautiful views from bedroom window.
Food was excellent. Service & staff were first class. They couldn't do enough for us.
The entertainment provided by the hotel was first class.
The day trips on the coach are great. Let the coach driver take the strain while you get the chance to sit back and admire some of the most beautiful views in the british isles,
Dominic our coach driver was a fountain of knowledge when it came to keeping us informed about the Mountains, Lochs, Glens, Towns, and Monuments we passed on these trips.
Overall a great holiday and we will definitely be returning to Bonny Scotland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank len g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review. Everybody here at the Caledonian will be delighted you enjoyed everything so much. We will pass your comments onto Dominic, also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a Shearings 5 day break at the Caledonian Hotel. Every thing was perfect from pich up to drop off. Shearings coach drivers are friendly and very knowledgeable. Our room at the hotel was very nice and overlooked the lock (what a view). Every one who works at the hotel are very friendly and helpfull. Reception staff, bar staff, restaurant staff and even the room maids were always pleasant and efficient. The food at the hotel was nice with plenty of choice. We had entertainment every night which was enjoyable. Included in the stay were 2 day trips which were very enjoyable (the scenery is to die for). We also were offered a trip to Oban on the Thursday on the coach as an extra for a minimum cost which we also enjoyed. Can not fault this break and look forward to visiting the Caledonian Hotel again. Well done to all at the Caledonian.

Room Tip: Front faceing rooms have a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay so much. All our staff take great care in ensuring our guests have an enjoyable holiday and they will be delighted that you have found this to be so. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before. Used as a place for climbing Ben Nevis. Mainly elderly (but friendly) people who stop here but not a problem. The hotel has lovely views, could do with a bit of an update to decor but its clean and cosy. The food was the best we've known it and the staff were extremely helpful in giving us an early breakfast on the day we did Ben Nevis. Warm hotel and water which is a bonus and great selection of beer at the bar. Entertainment is suitable for the clientele.
Would definitely use this again as value for money is second to none. Pleasant front of house staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haydn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I agree with you about the view from the hotel, it is great. I shall pass your comments onto our chefs and staff. We look forward to seeing you again at the Caledonian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

stunning views from front rooms, comfortable room with plenty heating{important as its February}
both dinner and breakfast excelent, very helpful and friendly staff, small complaint could have with more locals up front

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I shall pass your comments onto everyone and we hope to see you again at the Caledonian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Always stay here every January love everything about this hotel and location certainly won't get one as cheap for what you get, rooms are lovely good is nice not the best but then you get what you pay for and this is certainly well worth the money

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I'm pleased to see you have enjoyed another holiday with us at the Caledonian Hotel. As you say the holidays are great value for money. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just got back from a very good 4 day break at this hotel.When we got there it was snowing very heavy and the hotel staff cleared the luggage from the bus to allow passangers to go straight in .
The booking in was quick and we were in our room with no problems.
The hotel room was clean and the water for the bath was piping hot .we were given a table through out our stay the breakfast was very good with a good choice there was even a veggie breakfast which was good for my wife .The evening meals were also of a good standard and once again there was a veggie choice..
We had three nights entertainment that was not bad.The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
my wife and two friends had a very nice break and a enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: reqest a room at the front of the hotel good views overlooking Loch Linnhe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charla2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
What a lovely review, I’m pleased you all enjoyed your break so much. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Caledonian Hotel

Property: Bay Caledonian Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite Loch Linnhe, you can admire the fantastic views of the beautiful surrounding wooded hills and mountains from this hotel. Along with the dining room and pleasant lounge area, all front facing rooms offer super views of the breathtaking Loch Linnhe. The comfortable lounge and ballroom host entertainment most nights, often with a distinct Scottish flavour which is perfect for unwinding after a day’s sightseeing or exploring. A number of rooms have been recently refurbished to increase the capacity at this popular hotel and there is a convenient lift that serves all floors. At nine miles long and over a mile wide and with Ben Nevis towering above, Loch Linnhe is one of Scotland’s natural treasures. The hotel is also just two miles south of the town centre of Fort William, known as the outdoor capital of Britain, and here you can explore the many small and interesting shops and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Fort William
Caledonian Hotel Fort William
Fort William Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing