We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive mediocrity”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive mediocrity”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel, with recent addition, sits on a major noisy road (constant traffic). The room in the new wing was quite comfortable, but without bathtub. The restaurant was overpriced, although the food was okay. There was no exercise room or pool. This place is highly over-rated.

Room Tip: not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek81146, General Manager at Nevis Bank Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Firstly, many thanks for taking the time to review the Nevis Bank Inn,

You stayed in our newly refurbished wing that we put into action in May and I believe you stayed in our single room as there was no bath (all others have a bath), however we do indeed have other single rooms that include a bathtub and had you asked we would have swiftly moved you to another. We are pleased that you were otherwise very comfortable, the new rooms have to date received excellent feedback.

The hotel is a small independent hotel and nowhere do we state that we have leisure facilities such as a pool or a gym so we as a team are a little disappointed to be critised for this. We are however the closest hotel (a few hundred yards) from Fort William's leisure center that boasts a swimming pool, gym, squash courts, sauna, steam room and more.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    202
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
86
297
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very conveniently located near the city center- about a 10 min easy walk. We spent one night here. They gave us a room in the adjoining building, which was very quiet and comfortable. We had to punch in a code to enter the hallway to the building, and since they have not put a light outside it is impossible to see the keypad at night. Fortunately I had my phone with me, so I could use its light to see. The room and bathroom were one of the biggest we've stayed in, while in Scotland. The room was modern with all the necessary amenities. The only little problem I had was that in requested the reception for some milk and sugar for the coffee pot in the room, and was told that it would take a few minutes. After 4 hours, I had to call again and request it again.
Breakfast was great, and their service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We we're put in an adjoining building. It might be better to ask for a room in their main one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've climbed "The Ben" a few times and have stayed in various different hotels in Fort William. This is the best in my view. Very friendly and welcoming staff, great location for Ben Nevis, a pleasant bar/restaurant, comfortable rooms, they'll make packed lunches for the walk, never-ending hot water, heated towel rails to dry clothes.....and a great welcome when you return from a full day on the mountain.

This trip was with 7 work colleagues celebrating our 10th anniversary but, I liked it so much, I'm going back in 2-3 weeks with my 12 year old daughter to stay in the same hotel and walk up Ben Nevis again.

Thanks to your team for exceeding our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAJM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is that good I am not sure I want to tell you about it as next time I go I may not be able to get booked in. Very friendly staff first class hotel give it a try I am sure you will not be disappointed. PS I am not easy pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBLNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed one night as taking the Jacobite Steam Train the following morning. Smallish room but was not planning to spend a lot of time it in. Well appointed in that the bathroom had toiletries and a hairdryer. All the staff were very pleasant. Had dinner in the hotel but we booked it being a Friday evening. Meal was excellent. Breakfast the following was very nice. Small selection but everything you could possibly need. I had the eggs benedict which was nice as you don't see this on breakfast menus very often. 10 min walk to town centre and train centre. Plenty of parking at the train station and it was free all day - result !. Would stay here again if in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainsWife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Good points: Extremely clean room, comfy bed, quiet room at back of building, good breakfast, easy 10 min walk to train station.

Bad points: paper thin walls, difficult to find member of staff on arrival to check in, loo paper & tissues were never replenished, hotel toiletries that we used some of on day 1 were removed and never restocked (felt a bit stingy for the money we paid).

Overall, this was a comfortable stay in an extremely clean hotel, with a handy location. Unfortunately we found it to be incredibly overpriced and would not class as 4* - the service/luxury/extras just weren't there to bump it up!

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the building was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We used booking.com to book this accommodation, which was fast and easy and when I had to add another night to the booking again really really simple…

Okay the hotel, friendly staff, clean airy rooms, with all you could need. Ate in Brown's Restaurant on the Sunday night, very pleased with the service and the food, all very accommodating. We were still descending The Ben when we should have been at dinner, so a phone call and a change of time no problem at all.

Could have done without the bin men at 07:00 on the Monday morning though…!

Room Tip: Don't know about all the rooms but room No 7 & 10 get the full noise level of the bin men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalinaKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Property: Nevis Bank Inn
Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing