We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night on way to Skye. The hotel is modern and clean and the staff extremely pleasant. In particular we found the Polish girl who attended reception and served in the restaurant to be very helpful and extremely efficient. Reception could do with having a bell to attract attention as this doesn't seem to be manned all the time and we had to wait each visit there for someone to come. The cooked breakfast was very good as was the evening meal. We were in room 2 which was extremely warm even with the heating off. There was a vibration in the room which made you feel as if you were on a ship. It transpired this came from the fan in the kitchen and thankfully it stopped in the evening. All in all we were quite happy with the hotel and would return though we do think it is expensive for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 608 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was a backup hotel for us, as we had originally intended to stay at Inverlochy Castle Hotel -- which is 4x the price. We got what we paid for: clean room, basic bed and seating, and a very nice breakfast. We had hoped it would be only a step down from the Castle, but we sort of missed that target.

Best thing I can say is the manager and staff were friendly and hard-working, as just about everyone we saw in the hotel also worked the restaurant (which does a bang-up business).

If you're looking for upper level accommodations, look elsewhere. If you're only interested in being somewhat close to the main part of Ft William or very near the Ben Nevis walking trails, then you might like this place.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY from the rooms by the road as the road noise doesn't diminish at night very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FreqTravBizPleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek81146, General Manager at Nevis Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Nevis Bank Inn.

We are exceptionally pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and very clean, the staff and I work hard (a labour of love) and your comments regarding this are very welcomed.

However, Inverlochy Castle is a world famous 5 star, Michelin Starred property and I am sorry that you were unable to book with them. We on the other hand are a independently run 4 star modern Inn with contemporary decor, not to be compared to the juggernaut that is Inverlochy Castle who as you stated will cost a guest 4 times more (if not much more).

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose to stay in Fort William for 3 nights as we were booked on the Jacobite train and Nevis Bank Inn stood out for our stay! The hotel was great, clean and very comfortable! Double room and single room both spacious with a modern decor. Our rooms were in the new wing so all fresh! Brown's restaurant was modern and standard of food excellent with breakfast choices which suited us! Staff were excellent throughout the hotel! We enjoyed our stay and with the Jacobite train our whole break was excellent! Will recommend this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at The Nevis Bank Inn for 1 night and it was a wonderfull surprise! The Hotel is not too big (25 rooms) and the service is very good since the arrival till check out. It's very well decorated in a modern and clean style. The bed is very comfortable, mattress is very good, the room and bathroom were very well cleaned, the amenities smell lovely. The breakfast is very good as well although I believe that could have a wider choice for those that don't go for the Scottish full breakfast, however everything taste very good.
I really do recommend everyone to stay in this Hotel at Fort William.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartaFilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here at the end of the West Highland Way. Rooms are modern and the restaurant is good with cut above food - welcome after pub grub for days. What stands out are the staff - consistently helpful and friendly. Fast wifi and an easy walk to the train station.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank johnsuggestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely hotel. Stayed here for one night with my wife in May. Room spotlessly clean, modern decoration. Beds were very comfortable.
Ate in browns restaurant which was very nice and breakfast in the morning was delicious.
Have to say I thought the staff were outstanding - extremely polite and courteous.

Wifi in bar and room is fine.

I'd suggest this is one of the better hotels in Fort William and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 10 which is to side of the hotel. Overlooks some houses but nice view of hills at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights with my husband. The hotel was beautifully modern and the service was first class ! The staff were fabulous and actually made time for a chat, very attentive !
The location was excellent and all in all a great break, fort William is beautiful !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $116 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing