We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff, fabulous food, tiny room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Terrific staff, fabulous food, tiny room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We happened to get the small handicapped room with a window onto a carport; I'm sure there are better choices, but we were here with a group. Apart from that, the place is A+. The staff are very helpful, everybody volunteers for any task that's needed, and they are so welcoming. The food in the restaurant was exceptional. The pan seared scallops on crispy pork belly with caramelized apple and maple syrup purée make me salivate, just to remember their rich perfection.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicap room unless you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artichokeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    178
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
70
278
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A gem of a hotel in Fort William. Beautifully appointed throughout and spotlessly clean everywhere. Staff were very friendly and willing to offer information from where to get free parking for going up the Ben to where else it was good to go for a drink or a meal. Food at the Nevis was excellent, maybe the best in Fort William. Didn't expect to find this quality especially at this price, well done to all the staff, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a group of 9 travelling together. One of our group is 82 years old and had to climb lengthy staircase with his luggage to get to his room. Fortunately he is fit & we assisted with his bags but I did not see an elevator for those who might not be so able?
That aside, was a terrific all-round experience. Clean, well-designed & comfortable rooms, pleasant restaurant & bar serving generous & delicious breakfast as part of room rate, friendly helpful staff in good location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jashmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed with 5 friends for 3 nights. The hotel is modern and clean with a decent restaurant (Browns). The hotel is on the loch front and whilst by the main road it was quiet.The staff are really friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The room wasn't overly spacious but was tastefully decorated and obviously recently renovated. The bathroom was lovely - nice and big with a power shower! Breakfast was nice (albeit some pastries would have ben a nice addition) and cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant once and had a lovely meal (worth booking your restaurant table in advance as it does seem to get busy). If I had one complaint it was the lack of air conditioning - probably not often needed in Scotland but the room was quite warm in the evening. However, we walked up Ben Nevis so after that you can sleep anywhere! The walk up Ben Nevis starts 1.5 miles from the hotel (the receptionist gave us a great tip on where to park / start walking which avoided 'heart attack hill'). Overall a nice modern hotel with great staff and decent food in a good location. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent two nights at the Nevis Bank and they were wonderful . The staff were very good especially in the dining room as we ate there on both nights. We can recommend the scallops and mussels,breakfast was also very good .We stayed in Room 7 which was very nice, modern and clean .Would definately stay here again, the only downside is the small car park but they do have extra parking spaces opposite the hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Nevis Bank is beautifully run in all departments. A very cheery and helpful welcome on arrival signalled what was to come. The bedroom was spacious, clean and airy while the sparkling bathroom had every amenity expected. Housekeepers were a delight. Bar staff had all the friendliness, "can-do" attitude and product knowledge that if you're lucky you may find in an award-winning community local. Our dinner (not inexpensive!) was ably and professionally served by a team of skilled hospitality professionals. Not ONE weak link in the chain.
I hope that this review encourages Nevis Bank staff and means something to potential guests because we're a couple in our 60s and we've never taken the trouble to review anything, anywhere. Well done!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hi all trip advisor persons ,
Just spent 15 nights away in beautiful Scotland & I am reviewing several Hotels !!! so look out .
This Hotel was excellent ... Rooms & Bathrooms large , clean & quiet , the Browns restaurant at the Hotel was again excellent with attentive pleasant & happy staff ... the Dinner & breakfasts both to die for ........................ BUT .....whilst the hotel location itself was good Fort William was in need of a major face lift very disappointing indeed . Please if you are staying overnight or even a few nights to cover areas around Fort William then this Hotel is ideal .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Property: Nevis Bank Inn
Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing