We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for a few days. Pleasant, clean hotel. Rooms a bit small. Very friendly staff. Could have done with a fridge in the room.Good breakfast. Ample car parking. A good choice, just feel it was a bit pricey and not situated in a particularly scenic part of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 587 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Nevis Bank Hotel we found the following points noteworthy.

+ Ample parking directly in front of the hotel.
+ Very tidy in and around the hotel.
+ Room was nicely decorated with a comfy bed.
+ Black out blind built into the window.
+ If you shut one curtain you have a nice view of the hills.
+ Corridor lighting had occupancy sensors so no stray light under your door all night.
+ Very nice bar area with friendly, attentive staff.
+ Good choice of meals in the hotel restaurant.
+ Prices in the bar / restaurant were reasonable.
+ All the meals we had were very tasty.
+ Good location to circular walks and Ben Nevis information center.
+ Well located with regards to the train station and town center

+/- The check in / desk staff were quite formal in their communication, it seemed clear we were just some more guests. The room was not ready and we were asked to return at 15:00hrs (check in time) the time was 14:38hrs. When we returned Bernadine seemed a little more interested in where we had travelled from etc..Sometimes its nice to feel people are genuinely interested, even if they are not.

- Room was quite noisy on a few occasions during the night, it seemed we were above some staff exit??
- Room was surprisingly small when you compare them to the pictures on the web.
- The first night at the evening meal it felt a little like a sheep dip.. we finished our starter and less than two minutes later the main course arrived, this made us feel we were being pushed so the staff could turn the table.
- Prior to the second nights meal I requested if we could have 10 mins between courses, the waiter the said he would need to ask the chef, if that was OK?? The response was that "on this occasion and due to them not being too busy it was OK, however, we don't really like people taking too long".
- One of my pet hates reared its ugly head.....my plate being cleared (removed from the table) prior to my wife finishing her meal, now this may be picky, but it makes you feel your being pushed to finish. This happened on two occasions.

However, having mentioned the above negatives, the positives far outweigh them on an importance scale, and having that I would use the hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to spend a little more than normal and enjoy a weekend away without the kids. The building has been well furnished but the room (12) was not much bigger than the king size bed. We have stayed in a whole range of hotels over the years and would not put the room standard any higher than a recently refurbished travelodge. Just wish that we had saved £100 and stayed there instead.
Breakfast was great but could easily have afforded a top one with money saved.

£4.40 for a Caledonian (Belhaven) Best

You get the idea.

Room Tip: None unless you get a discount suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked a night here on 1st July 2013 for my parents as part of a present that included a trip on the west coast railway. They were upgraded to king size room arrival and said the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. They also enjoyed their breakfast and described the staff as lovely and very efficient. I am pleased with the value for money I got for the gift and they seemed really pleased- said they would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very standard although I was told we had the best suite. Paid £175 which was reduced from £195 as we had a late arrival and I asked for a discount. This did include breakfast which was acceptable except I did expect more than I got. Suite had clean sheets and towels and bathroom was modern but everything else seemed rather shabby and in need of replacement. Don't think I would say there again as I felt it was overpriced.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank foodie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This small hotel was a wonderful surprise. It is newly remodeled and quite up to date. The staff is absolutely wonderful and hard working. The food is excellently prepared. I wish all Scottish hotels were this good.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building. There are two rooms in a connected building. Those rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We finished the West Highland Way with a stay in the Nevis Bank Inn. This was more money than the other B & Bs and Guest Houses we had stayed in over the week but well worth it. The accommodation was very spacious and luxurious. A big bed and ensuite bath room with a bath which was much needed for a soak! The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good. Great breakfast in the morning and we headed home.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 on the first floor which was around the side and away from the busy staircase an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,002 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing