We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bought as a gift”
Review of Nevis Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bought as a gift”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked a night here on 1st July 2013 for my parents as part of a present that included a trip on the west coast railway. They were upgraded to king size room arrival and said the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. They also enjoyed their breakfast and described the staff as lovely and very efficient. I am pleased with the value for money I got for the gift and they seemed really pleased- said they would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    202
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
86
297
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Very standard although I was told we had the best suite. Paid £175 which was reduced from £195 as we had a late arrival and I asked for a discount. This did include breakfast which was acceptable except I did expect more than I got. Suite had clean sheets and towels and bathroom was modern but everything else seemed rather shabby and in need of replacement. Don't think I would say there again as I felt it was overpriced.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This small hotel was a wonderful surprise. It is newly remodeled and quite up to date. The staff is absolutely wonderful and hard working. The food is excellently prepared. I wish all Scottish hotels were this good.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building. There are two rooms in a connected building. Those rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We finished the West Highland Way with a stay in the Nevis Bank Inn. This was more money than the other B & Bs and Guest Houses we had stayed in over the week but well worth it. The accommodation was very spacious and luxurious. A big bed and ensuite bath room with a bath which was much needed for a soak! The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good. Great breakfast in the morning and we headed home.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 on the first floor which was around the side and away from the busy staircase an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of Fort William. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and our room was excellent. There certainly seemed to have been a lot of money well spent all over the building. The breakfast was very good, as was the associated restaurant. Certainly all worthy of a recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangytangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is in a good location on the main road through Fort William and only a ten minute walk from the centre. It has a car park and there's a bus stop nearby. Our room was spotlessly clean and well furnished with a large, modern bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the décor pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful.

That said, some improvements could be made. We stayed in the hotel during a spell of warm weather and the bedroom became unbearably hot at night. I found it almost impossible to sleep even after removing the duvet. The sun streamed in the bathroom window most of the day, which made it like a sauna, and the heat was retained and seemed to spread into the bedroom at night. A blind on the bathroom window might help.

The cooked breakfast was made to order and was hard to beat for quality and choice, although there were no tattie scones ;-). However, if you like bread rolls, you’ll be disappointed and have to stick with toast. There wasn’t a croissant to be seen or freshly baked brown bread. The fruit salad was bland and a bowl of fruit, containing apples, bananas and oranges would not have gone amiss. Although I enjoy a cooked breakfast, I sometimes prefer other options. I think the hotel has missed a trick by not catering for visitors from the European continent who might like to start the day with something other than a cooked meal.

There was a good choice of meals for dinner in the restaurant. The portions were too large for me but that's usually the case wherever I eat. If you finish your meal with a coffee, take note that it comes in a hugh cup and I couldn't finish mine. I'd say smaller cups would be acceptable after a large meal but that's just my opinion.

Room Tip: Although our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road and above the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JingsCrivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Really great to find a clean, welcoming professionally run modern hotel in Fort William and just fantastic when the restaurant is run in the same way serving a high standard of well prepared and presented modern cuisine.

We arrived late about 9 p.m. but 'no problem of course you can have dinner' what a change from so many hotels in the highlands.

Have to admit I chose this hotel from Trip Advisor and very please I did.

Congratulations to the management and staff for achieving what you so obviously set out to achieve.

Can you please pass on the model to the Tourist Board? You are a credit to your profession.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a bed with a softer matress but room are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roninspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevis Bank Inn

Property: Nevis Bank Inn
Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nevis Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpack, unwind & enjoy!We offer modern comfortable accommodation. Our bedrooms have been designed with you in mind and you will find everything required for a relaxing stay.Rooms are stylishly decorated using walnut wood furniture & luxury fabrics. * Single rooms have double beds * Double rooms have king-size or super king beds * Twin rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are also available. * Suites have super king beds and lounges with double sofa beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nevis Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevis Bank Hotel Fort William
Nevis Bank Fort William
Nevis Bank Inn Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing