We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, Spacious and the Perfect View”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows
Ranked #19 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spotless, Spacious and the Perfect View”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived late at night following a train journey from London and a drive in the dark from Edinburgh. Paul was very flexible with our arrival time, so that was reassuring. The first thing I noticed about the room, was that it was completely spotless! The cleanest B&B I've been to! There was a complimentary kit kat each - which was perfect after our journey, with the nice hot chocolate there too. Our room was right near the dining room, so was convenient and we had two double beds to spread out on! Breakfast was just right, with tea, toast, cereals, fruit, pastries, yoghurt and a full english with poached eggs. The view from the dining room of the loch and glen was the icing on the cake. On the second night, we ordered take away and Paul kindly gave us plates, cutlery and napkins. The only improvement we could think of was that the shower would be good with more power - but all in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farida51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    28
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We passed through Fort William for one night. The Willows is easy to find, parking at the door and easy going hosts. Paul cooked us a very good breakfast and we were relieved to find plenty of fresh fruit ( and vegemite). The room was large with a huge ensuite and toasty and warm. Would love to come back and stay in the summer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Canberrachooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed two nights here .The annex room we had was like a little selfcontained cottage .
It had a fridge & micro was well stocked with every item you could possibly need.
The friendly owner Paul asked for our breakfast itme and request the night before.Nothing was a bother to him.
The breakfast room, which was well stocked, overlooked Loch Linnie & the views from the large window were stunning.
The price was very reasonable.
I would recommend it to anyone, if we're back in the area we'd return in a minute.
Parking spaces were at the door.

Room Tip: The room we were in "6 " was independent of the main house so quiet and private. Double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvnk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just had a lovely 2 nights stay at the Willows, there was 7 of us altogether. The rooms are very spacious and Paul is the perfect host. Helpful with info about the area and made a lovely breakfast, with extra tea/coffee or toast if required. Would stay again if up in Fort William.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vendee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

When we arrived, we were given a choice of rooms. We chose Room 6, which was independent of the main house, and had a fridge and microwave. Everything was just right:- tasteful decor, quiet, spotless room and shower-room, comfortable bed and armchairs, controllable heating, and a plentiful and tasty breakfast served at our chosen time .
Paul is an excellent host, going out of his way to accommodate the needs of his guests.
The house is a short walk from the town centre, on the sea front. It's easy to find on the main road south, and there's plenty of off-road parking.
It's a great base for outdoor activities - the room was spacious and warm enough to dry our damp clothing after a soggy November day on the hills, and a good night's sleep left us ready to face the next day's challenge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salarseeker, Manager at The Willows, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
many thanks , much appreciated , glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Despite not having booked in advance, my daughter and I were immediately welcomed by Paul and were shown into a spotlessly clean and very comfortable room within a couple of minutes of arriving. The room was just what we needed after a long day on the road touring the west coast of Scotland and was so good that we decided to stay another night and make The Willows our base for a couple of days. The rooms and the rest of the areas were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable indeed, guaranteeing a great night's sleep. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a full cooked breakfast also available with Paul bringing out as much toast and coffee as we wanted. We felt a warm welcome from the minute we came through the door and I'll definitely stay at The Willows again when visiting this part of Scotland and would be happy to recommend this B&B to any of my friends. Well done on a great B&B and great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gethin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salarseeker, Manager at The Willows, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
was great having you , hope your new business works out well .. all the best mate..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed one night in room 4 while travelling with four friends. Lovely warm room with perfect location, lots for breakfast and friendly owners. Could not ask for a better stay...apart from the bad weather!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyNellieKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 112 in Fort William
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ardlinnhe Guest House
#31 of 112 in Fort William
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 112 in Fort William
461 reviews
2.6 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 112 in Fort William
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: The Willows Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows is a 3 star family run guest house, situated on the beautiful golden mile by the shores of Loch Linnhe with views of the Ardgour hills. Located close to Fort William town centre it is approximately a 10-15 minute pleasant stroll to the restaurants, bars and shops. Each of our 3 guest rooms have an en-suite shower room with fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV, DVD player, hairdryer and free Wi-Fi. There is also ample free off road parking. At the Willows enjoy a hearty cooked traditional breakfast or choose another option from our menu, along with a variety of continental items from our buffet table such as cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cheeses, muffins, all served in our dining room with lovely views of Loch Linnhe. We accept all major credit cards, paypal or cash, but we require card details or a deposit to secure a reservation. Prices range from £25-£47.50 per person depending on room type, number of people and time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing