We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
Mill Cottage Fort William
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch River views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
46 reviews
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch
River views
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Room
First Floor Shower Room & WC
Hallway (with Daffy)
Twin Debroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony
Glencoe
Winter Snow
River at Mill Cottage
Ben Nevis
Sunset at Mill Cottage
Autumn evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Claudie V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cottage not recommendable , insalubrious , It did not meet our expectation .”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Cottage very disappointing, the pictures on the site concerning the living room are misleading, sofa and chairs saggy, torn. Moisture in the bathroom, at the limit of insalubrity. Leaking hot water in the kitchen. No maintenance of the lawn, broken ground. Cottage not recommendable, only the view in the room upstairs is worth the detour.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamie31mc...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a fantastic stay at Mill cottage .the view from the master bedroom is amazing. The scenery and wildlife around this area is breathtaking . I would advise to adventure the forresty trails if you like to walk for miles . It was great to have our dog on holiday with us for the first time who loved the long walks.

The communication from mr Lovet was great and he was very happy to help make our stay better with advice on things to do with the kids wich was very helpfull . I hope to be back with my family soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick I
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and perfect for dog owners”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Booked this house very early in 2017 as we wanted a big house and the added bonus we could bring our dogs. Had perfect communication with Pete the owner through out so another bonus.

The house is situated on the loch and with stunning views over looking the mountains this house is perfect for all locations from the local waterfall walks to Ben Nevis and glencoe of which we went to all. our aim was to ski on the Nevis range and the second to last day the mountain became our home for the day for perfect skiing. We was advised the best time to ski in Scotland is in February but as we wanted to be away for the new year going skiing was perfect to finish off our trip.

Now the review of the house... for us it was perfect in the fact the dogs were allowed and we can see why maybe the house is just very basic as why would you spend fortunes when you are allowed pets. Ok maybe it could do with a lick of paint and just a little time spent putting light bulbs in (The jobs the wife would badger you to do if it was your house) if booked maybe you will see what I'm talking about. To be honest it has everything you need for a week away and the scenery will blow you away i would have put 5 stars just for the scenery but in our opinion maybe just a lick of paint and a spouse up the 5 star rating i would have put. If your looking for a perfect house with landscaped lawns then this is not for you but if your like us just want to get away from it all and you can take your dogs and forget about the bits what need doing then without a doubt book! Without a doubt we would book again and pete if you need me to do your painting and bits what need doing then I'm happy to do so haha!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Hi Nick and family, thank you so much for taking the time to review Mill Cottage and I admit your review brought a smile to my face as it is spot on. Mill Cottage is a little like a comfortable pair of jeans. Because of its setting and accommodation is is so popular all year...almost full booked with families. That said we find it hard to find time to refurbish it and opt for quick fixes. But we are planning a major refurb throughout November and I am sure you will love it when you return. It would be a pleasure to have to all back. Just let me know and we'll look after you. Enjoy your summer Nick...oh and I may well take you up on a bit of painting mate... Warm regards Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHawley
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding location”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I wanted to provide a very special family holiday for 9 adults and 2 young children. I could not have chosen a better property. If you are looking for marble floors and en suite bathrooms, look elsewhere; but if you want a large house, comfortable and well-equipped, as a wonderful base to explore the stunning scenery of Glencoe and the West Highlands - this is the cottage for you. The proprietors are lovely people - extremely helpful and genuinely interested in the holiday. In the end, all of us felt we had had the most amazing family experience. My two small grandsons keep asking when we are going back to the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Dear Dom, Ros and family......Wow... we are so grateful to you for taking the time to review Mill Cottage and especially delighted that you love it as much as we do. Please tell your 2 grandsons we'd love to have you all return.

I look forward to you contacting me directly, when you are ready, so we may further reflect our appreciation in the cost of your next stay. Have a lovely summer. Pete & Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious cottage in a good area”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent a week here with two families, 8 people in total. Nice comfortable cottage, spacious and very well equiped. Good location to explore the area. Shops, restaurants, bars, etc within 14 km reach. Very close to a small camping site but very quiet and peacefull.
We had a great time here - thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Hi Linda, so glad you all had a wonderful time at Mill Cottage and Fort William. We'd love you guys to return. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azman K
2 reviews
“Best holidays”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Proper place for the holidays. Lodge was very nice and facilitate with every thing. House lady was very friendly and nice

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The location was excellent for site seeing around the fort william area it was approx 8miles from fort william and a base for lots of places, the cottage was very Homely and comfortable, it had 5 bedrooms and could sleep up to 12 guests lots of cutlery crockery and glasses, great kitchen facilities and central heated. it had two bathrooms which was ok for us we were a party of 5 it might be a problem if it had 12 guests. You had to take your own towels that was not a problem, the directions to the cottage were not very clear but after speaking to the owners they are going to make the directions easier. We really enjoyed our stay and we would recommend and if need be we would return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Hello Margaret,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mill Cottage and we are so glad you all had a lovely time and enjoyed our cottage. It was a pleasure to have you all stay and we look forward to you returning - just give me a call please when you are ready for your next trip.

You are absolutely right about the directions, which could be better, I will try to improve these.

Have a lovely summer.

Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing