We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a nice experience”
Mill Cottage Fort William
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch River views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
49 reviews
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch
River views
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Room
First Floor Shower Room & WC
Hallway (with Daffy)
Twin Debroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony
Glencoe
Winter Snow
River at Mill Cottage
Ben Nevis
Sunset at Mill Cottage
Autumn evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lindalre
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location but upgrade required”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

I didn't expect this property to be 4 or 5 star as I had read previous comments but, to be honest, the ground floor was much more run down than I had expected. Since it is always busy, maybe some upgrades could be done in between guests leaving and arriving: perhaps wallpaper repasted above radiators, fresh curtains hung and downstairs toilet given a thorough freshen up; these small things would have made a huge difference to the ground floor.

There was no outside seating area and the garden was unsuitable for chairs as it was not even and was very overgrown. I also had difficult walking the path to the door, as it had weeds growing onto it from the hill at the side, which made it very slippy for me.

However, the upstairs was in better condition. The master bedroom had a balcony with a view overlooking the loch and mountains but also looking over a Caravan Club caravan site; albeit a quiet site. There were no outside seats for the balcony so if you have booked this property, I would recommend you take some outside chairs with you.

The location was very good for visiting many lovely places.

I did speak to the owner, Pete, who is very friendly and I informed him about the state of the ground floor. He told me Mill Cottage will be refurbished in November.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Ground floor accommodation
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Dear Linda, Thank you for your valued feedback. Mill Cottage has been fully booked through the past couple of years hosting families and groups, many of which return year after year. Last year we refurbished the first floor bedrooms and this year we are planning redecoration for the ground floor. We are also installing teak furniture on the balcony. We look forward to seeing you back next year. Best wishes. Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodie158...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a nice experience ”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Went with a group of friends recently and the house was great and the owners were very friendly and helpful! It was closeby to many walks and hikes, only minor issue was the shower, it was either too hot or too cold but other than that the cottage was lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
Hi guys, so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed staying at Mill Cottage. I am sorry about the difficulty you had with the shower and I have asked my plumber to install a new one. We look forward to accommodating you all again in the near future. Enjoy the summer.
Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichieRoc...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good Value, unpretentious accomodation”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for week over New Year in an extended family group. The cottage is in a quiet and picturesque location and is well equipped. The arrangement of double and twin rooms suited us very well and everyone enjoyed the stay. The weather was wet, to say the least, but the cottage was warm and good to return to at the end of the day. Yes, some of the downstairs areas are a bit tired and in need of improvement - the very friendly and approachable owner says there are plans for refurbishment later in the year. There are walks from the cottage, you could even walk to the Corran Ferry if you wanted, and there's a pub/restaurant, the Four Seasons, within walking distance on the other side of the main road.
If you're looking for unpretentious accommodation for a large family group in a beautiful area, then I would recommend Mill Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds and bedding very comfortable
Liked least: Some downstairs areas a little worn
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2016
Hello Richard, I am so glad you guys had a great time and we look forward to accommodating you all again - hopefully in dryer weather. Thank you for taking the time to review Mill Cottage which is great for our potential customers to get a "real feel" for the cottage and area. Happy New Year guys. Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair2...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot - cosy house”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is a large property that looks out on to the loch for some great views in the evening and morning as the mist clears over the water. We found everything to be in good order. This house has great heating throughout, I don't think you'd ever get cold.
Only one request - please can you supply a cafetiere :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snickets
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and lots of room.”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday property is large, comfortable, well equipped and in an amazing position. Within easy reach of many highland sights and right on the loch side with waterfalls at the bottom of the drive, you cannot fault the location. There are walks from the door and we all enjoyed the visits from the pine marten in the garden. The house was clean on our arrival and there is enough crockery, cutlery and cookin utensils. If that's what you are looking for at a reasonable price, then that's fine. However, the decor is very tired inside - this is not a luxury style home. When were were there the garden was very boggy meaning we couldn't spend a great deal of time out there. I understand that the owner ( who is very friendly and helpful ) is planning some updating this winter, so we will be interested to see the improvements.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the owner
Liked least: The tired decor.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkeStew...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and terrific value for money”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for easy access to Glencoe, the hills around Glen Nevis and what lies over the water on the Corran Ferry, Mill Cottage is spot on. There were nine of us and we had bags of room and enough facilities for cooking, washing and general slobbing out, in-between trips up the hills and out on the bikes. The decor is not in the first flush of youth but everywhere was clean, the kitchen is well equipped and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Pete was on the end of the phone or email for any questions we had and all the admin type stuff was a piece of cake. Great place.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Hi Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to review Mill Cottage, I knew you guys would have a great time and we'd love to see you back. If you've ever fancied snowboarding or skiing Mill Cottage is a different experience in the winter especially when it snows and we are only just 15 mins from both ski resorts. Have a good summer and don't forget drop me a line if you're up for it with a few mates..all the best Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b99n
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, good cottage for groups”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for a week with a group of friends to walk, cycle, climb and explore the area. Mill Cottage was spotless on arrival and perfect us with comfortable accomodation and plenty of space for all our kit, having use of the garage was great for our bikes. The kitchen was well equipped and the boiler room was most useful for drying wet clothing (weather was a bit hit and miss!).

The property is well used and some of the decoration is less than perfect however I feel this added to the quirky charm. If the main focus of your holiday is staying in a pristine property in showhome condition Mill Cottage is not for you, its a good value comfortable property situated in a great location ideal for exploring the Glencoe/Fort William area.... or just relaxing in the lounge soaking up the view!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing