We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
182
241
224
111
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
182
241
224
111
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath executive room four poster bed central location high street town centre cooked breakfast an overnight stay single room couple of nights stayed for one night isle of skye biscuits bed and breakfast tea and coffee breakfast was excellent yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 867 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

Apart from the double bed against the wall, toilet with no pressure to flush, shower taking longer than history to heat, staff who couldn’t smile in case their faces broke what’s with saying floor 2 then you walk up a maze of Harry Potterish stair cases to the attic to find said room of displeasure with well worn chair, fixtures and fittings and tattered carpet, don’t get me started on the breakfast not sure where they got bacon from cause that didn’t look like bacon. Never staying again, ever!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FellowTraveler246122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanishM5, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for a weekend away. The main reason for choosing this one was it’s proximity to the train station, a 5 minute walk, as we were going on The Jacobite AKA The Hogwarts Express. The hotel itself is very dated, crazy patterns and old furniture. The entrance is welcoming and the front bar area is nice; a cosy atmosphere. The staff were all friendly too. We ate here both nights (book a table somewhere if you want to eat out on a Saturday!) and the food was good, my husband particularly enjoyed his curry. Breakfast was decent too, disappointed at the lack of traditional Scottish options though.

Our room was on the very top floor and no lift, not a massive issue for us, just something to be aware of. Our bed was pretty uncomfortable, very squishy! The chairs were worn and peeling and as mentioned the decor was really dated. It was mainly clean apart from a dirty mirror though. We did have a weird noise though, which seemed to happen anytime someone used the hot water which was pretty annoying.

The view from the hotel was just lovely, really stunning and just what you want when staying in the highlands. Easy to walk around the town, ideal if you don’t really know the area too.

Would I stay here again? If they upgraded the beds, yes. Until then I wouldn’t really recommend. This place really has the potential to be a top notch hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 22atlantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanishM5, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotelgroup.com

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

When booking, we specified that we were 2 adults and a child and they booked a room with only one bed. When we pointed this out, they said that we would all sleep in the same bed, but we could pay extra to have another bed: clearly a scheme to appear as being cheaper than the competition.
They specify that free parking is available, but there are only 6 parking slots for about 40 rooms, so good luck finding a slot.
The room furniture had not been maintained for ages: only one chair, in the corner with most of the artificial leather peeling from old age, an iron had visibly be left on the carpet and had melted it.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanishM5, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

all our family rooms have one double bed and a single bed and it is specifically mentioned on all websites when you make a booking for family room it states it has a double and a single bed, you made booking for 2 adults and 2 kids and we did provide you with an additional bed in the bedroom. if website says the room has a double and a single bed so you were aware when you made the booking that family room had double and single bed but still we provided you with an extra bed.

also regarding your comment on parking spaces it is stated clearly on website, hotel has limited parking spaces we have 10 spaces not 6 spaces as you mentioned and then there is free public car park across the hotel which is free from 6pm to 8am at the time of the check in you were made aware of that.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotelgroup.com

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

The hotel looks run down from the outside. We booked a room for 4 guests. There were three beds in the room plus a foldable bed of no use really. The room was at the end of a long corridor. Lots of stairs to get to it and no lift. Parking was also a problem. The hotel has an allocated parking area which is small. We ended up paying for our car for the whole stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanishM5, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Well the hotel was far better than some of the reviews would have you expect. Clean room with an excellent bathroom and all the usual room amenities. A good breakfast but no haggis or black pudding. Great staff who made me feel very welcome. The only downside, which the hotel cannot be blamed for is the Sports bar at the back of the hotel which operates until 2am on Sunday morning. Lots of noise from music and inebriated clients who communicated by shouting. So if you can, ask for a room facing the sea. Having said that the room was great for the price I paid. It will be my go to hotel in the future (but not if I am staying on Saturday night)

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the sea to avoid pub noise
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dcfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews