We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$729
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
$263
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$130
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
175
226
202
94
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
226
202
94
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathbest western hotelexecutive roomcosy barfour poster bedcentral locationtown centrehigh streetcooked breakfastshort stayan overnight staysingle roomtrain stationcouple of nightsisle of skyestayed for one nightbiscuits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 785 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the most expensive hotel during our stay in Scotland, but far from the best (in fact, it can thank a really atrocious 'colleague' to avoid "the worst" label). For the money that you pay, this is thoroughly underwhelming. Everything is aging and not very practical, especially the small winding corridors with thick carpet that makes carrying and rolling your luggage difficult.

The hotel parking is tiny and constantly over full - thus you have to park on the public parking right next to it, but it's paying from 8 in the morning (luckily, we stayed for a saturday night and sundays are free).

Rooms are small and modest, at least the beds were okay.

As usual in the UK, the shower is oldish and had very little water pressure. You can hear the pipes rustling in the night/early morning. And if that doesn't awake you, the cleaning personnel that is cheerfully and loudly talking will take care of that for you.

Next stop: breakfast. Oh my. First, you have to wait in the lobby until they've prepared a table for you. Not great. Then we have the most useless and inept crew of waiters I've ever seen. Also, they don't smile or make you feel particularly welcome. By 9 o'clock the buffet had been raided (no more pastries, almost no more fruit), but the empty or 7/8 empty plates were left to admire and wonder what could've been. You couldn't even get a glass of juice right away, because there were no more glasses left, something the waiters had also not noticed by themselves and had to be specifically asked for. The cooked breakfast was mediocre. When we asked for more toast, the waitress promptly forgot our demand and when we reminded her she looked at us as if we were speaking Mandarin. Toast arrived ten minutes after I had finished eating what I wanted to eat with the toast.

Monopoly rules in the highlands, so the lack of reasonably priced competition means that even a mediocre hotel like this one can ask for prices that are not reflected in what they offer - everyone else is still more expensive, so there you go. This is still rather underwhelming and you can probably do better for not a whole lot more money (we booked last minute, so our options were limited).

The breakfast was a catastrophe - if you have the choice (we didn't, it came with the room), order without breakfast - you can get better in the mainstreet, less than five minutes away...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Nothing says gross out like a condom wrapper between the night stand and the bed. We were in room 21 which was very spacious. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub. But that didn't make up for stains on the rug, lack of vacuuming next to the bed, no lift, constant noise from staff and guests being rowdy under our windows as they smoked and tour buses unloaded and the incredibly bad food. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your Visit at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion.

We are pleased to advise that we have taken your points on board and have discussed the matter with our chef and the housekeeping staff and we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Prashant Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Possibly the smallest double room we've ever stayed in. The window looked straight out onto the fire escape. The walls were so thin you could hear every noise from the next room and from the corridor. The bathroom extractor didn't work. The toilet seat was loose. The grout between the bathroom tiles was cracked/missing in places. The worktop in the bathroom was peeling. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Generally, shabby and overpriced.
The location was good, and the reception and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Sincerely,

Prashant Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent 2 really comfortable and relaxing nights at the Imperial Hotel. We checked the reviews and were a bit apprehensive. However we found the hotel to be lovely extremely clean and so friendly. We ate both nights in the hotel. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced as was the wine. The staff could not do enough to make our stay very enjoyable in particular Sunie and Gary. The only small complaint was the shower in our room didnt work but we had lovely hot baths after walking up Ben Nevis. We would certainly go back and will recommend the Imperial to all our friends. Jean and Andy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldmedal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and we are delighted to have your nice comments with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial Hotel. Your positive response gives us and our staff encouragement to go the extra mile to make each and every guest’s stay a satisfying one.
Once again we would like to thank you for your appreciation about the services which you received at our establishment.
Hope to see you again in future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

You really can't beat this location! Ample parking if driving and a 10 minute walk to/from the train station. A block from High Street and ample restaurants and shopping (in this relatively small town). The hotel, however, seems pretty old, and there was a musty odor in the lobby (though not in my room). There is a restaurant attached, but I didn't eat there (though when I returned from my dinner, it was full. Maybe the tour bus). The room was ample in size, the bed very comfortable (not hard as a board like so many European beds) The bathroom large and modern. My room looked out to the water, though the view was obscured somewhat by trees. Since the parking lot was also there, it was pretty quiet even though I left my window open all night. All in all, not luxurious, but a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations and also happy that you had a comfortable and an enjoyable experience at the hotel. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, thank you for your feedback and hope to see you during your next visit.
Sincerely
Prashant Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews