We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I did not expect much reading the other reviews. But we were pleasantly surprised ! We got room No. 25, which seemed to be on a floor that is recently renovated. It looked out onto the Loch, was spacious and clean. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. When we missed the remote control for the TV, the manager came immediately and brought a replacement one. The only complaint was the poor shower in the bathroom with virtually no pressure ! There was also some noises in the morning from the plumbing system. The location is excellent, as it is right around the corner from the main street but free parking is limited.
Overall a good hotel if you are lucky to get a renovated room, not sure how the other rooms look like in comparison. Breakfast was adequate with full English breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ConnieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 766 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed in this Hotel in January 2008. The Hotel seemed okay and the room reasonable. However, after we had checked in, I noticed something on the bed, and on closer inspection discovered bed bugs. I immediately went down to reception and reported my find. No apologie, and very little to say on the matter. We were given another room.That evening I e-m ailed Best Western Head Office, within an hour the Manger apologised. We did receive a discount on our restaurant bill and the majority of the staff were very nice but the lady manager needs to sharpen her hospitality skills.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ScotlandBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Took my 92 year old mother for Christmas. Never again, the food was terrible. Short staffed and those who were on duty had little knowledge of how we British celebrate the festive season. No leadership of staff as the manager took Christmas off. Do your self a favour and give it a miss, unless you like carrots at every meal!

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank bigunnorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday in room 31. I wouldn't stay here again. The long weekend was supposed to be a treat for my wife's birthday. The room was small and shabby, and looked out on the back of a shabby hotel across the street. The door hook was missing which could easily have been replaced. The barely adequate electric shower was dirty, the bathroom fittings were the cheapest possible quality and had been carelessly fitted. The picture frame was dirty and chipped (the picture was supposed to give the room "charm" I suppose). The carpet wasn't very clean and seemed to be a leftover from ca.1970. There was no chair to sit on. The milk for tea/coffee wasn't replaced on the second day. There was no bedside table on one side of the bed for a watch, books, jewellery, etc.
I would strongly echo the advice given by other reviewers - check the room before you book in. Unfortunately we'd booked on the internet, and arrived on the train from London at 10 in the moring, so we couldn't check in until later in the day, when the hotel staff had already taken our bags to the room. We paid before seeing the room, but probably would have had to pay 1 night's cancellation charge if we'd refused it. When you're only staying 2 nights, you don't want to be traipsing around with heavy bags looking for alternatives. Very disappointing and far too expensive for the standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swoolf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The original room we booked had previously been used by smokers - is this not now banned? We were unaware of this and were not made aware at the time of booking. The shower did not work, eventually, after 3 complaints we were moved to a(non-smoking) room. One guess regarding the shower! Well it worked, but the temperature control did not so the likelihood of scalding was an option we chose to ignore. We left a note reporting this and also the lack of a TV remote control.
Both requests went unacknowledged, but as we were near the end of our 4 night stay we (wrongly) put up with it.

The real downer was the quality of the cooked breakfasts. On each of the 4 mornings the food arrived cold or the eggs were hard enough to tee off with. This is quite inexcusable. A hotel charging these rates should operate on a more professional level, not just "processing" guests, but endeavouring to get them to return. The breakfast fare made up our minds to not use the restaurant at night. This cost The Imperial potential revenue.
WE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank Stuartbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Stayed two nights which cost a lot of money. Didn't get the room we booked through the net. Thought i was booking something special for our wedding anniversary but the pictures on the net where the wrong one for the prices displayed so ended up in a sub standard boxroom instead. First night had to move rooms as headboard fell of the wall onto our heads. Second room was not much better with the shower not working. Not a bad breakfast but just try to heat it up. still waiting for the management to contact myself ref my complaint ( 3 weeks so far not bad). My tip for you, check the rooms out before you check in/or go to some other hotel in the area. Friendly staff thought.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

Good location and staff, but poor old fashioned room. Plumbing awful and no towel! Suggect check room before checking in.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $69 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing