We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor effort from a big chain like Best Western.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Poor effort from a big chain like Best Western.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western for one night when completing the Three Peaks challenge in a group of 18 people and I was disappointed all round. My pal and I had a twin room which was sufficient (if slightly small) and was clean and well kept but the beds were tiny and my feet hung well over the bottom of the bed. I am tall (6’3”) but this bed really couldn’t have measured more than 5’11” at most. I didn’t get a good nights sleep when I really needed it. There was however a good sized bathroom with a bath/shower and a good selection of shower gels, soaps etc for two people so no issues there.
The food was terrible for a Best Western, Firstly in our party of 4 (we totaled 18 people but were given tables of 4) only 3 of us got a bread roll and despite numerous attempts to get a forth roll it was only delivered when we had all finished our mains? We had a 3 course option and I had the Mediterranean salad which was a small portion of normal salad, a sliver of goats cheese and a drizzle of Balsamic on it? Nothing at all Mediterranean about it? Where were the olives, cold meats etc? The main course was a spectacular failure, I had the fish and chips and considering that the restaurant overlooked one of Scotland’s largest Lochs (an amazing view) the fish which was served (Haddock) was absolutely tiny and cooked to within an inch of incineration. Added to this I chose the potato option rather than chips and received a total of 2 tiny boiled potatoes?? My pal had chips and received a small portion (literally about 8 chips) along with a equally overcooked fish. The portions were literally comical and we all considered dining out to ensure we were full for the rest of the challenge but we were just too tired to do so. Utterly ridiculous.
Thankfully we checked out too early to get breakfast but did order takeaway breakfast bags which consisted of a small sandwich, fruit, crisps and bottled water, typical of a take away bag to be fair.
Very disappointed with this hotel which as a large chain should offer comparable standards of quality to other hotels within the chain but the downright awful dining experience and poor quality of sleep badly let this one down. When we do the three peaks again next year we will definitely not stay here.
A very poor effort from the Best Western chain.

Room Tip: Dont eat there, dine out instead as it just isnt up to standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    207
    186
    85
    76
See reviews for
71
345
50
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice, modern medium-range hotel, right in town center, close to bus & train stations.
My room was clean & comfortable, with a view over the water. Breakfast was very good, in a beautiful room with french windows. Had dinner in the attached bar the night before - very good, inexpensive. They also serve Indian cuisine. Staff very friendly & efficient - they kindly held my bag for me before my check-in time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank trintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was ideal for a stay to visit Ben Nevis and Loch Ness is is very clean and the staff are brilliant they could not do enough for you .The breakfast was lovely and the rooms are cleaned too a excellent standard we will use again next year for our first anniversary and would recommend to anybody 5+stars

Room Tip: Excellent value and brilliant en-suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scanin-mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booked via internet serch and good value for the price.
Ideal location 5 mins from station and right in the center of town
Arriving late on a Sunday @22:30 we were given the hotel brief by very pleasant night manager,and although the hotel kichen had closed,he gave us informtion as to the options for food in the town.
Pleasently surprised with Room 40,queen size bed,view of the Loch and good size shower/bath room.
We didnt take breakfast,but can recommend the indian food available on the evening menu.
All in all a good comfortable 3 day stay.

Room Tip: Room 40 Queen size bed 2nd floor,overlooking the Loch No lift available at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We found ourselves locked out of the hotel when we returned after a late family party. There was no night manager and we actually had to force the door to get in! The access to the hotel was not explained to us prior to this event and we were quite stressed with this situation. The actual room was okay but the breakfast was atrocious. The floor in the dining room was sticky, the choice of buffet was very limited and the chef's special was " hash browns" big deal! Absolutely not impressed. We spent £117 for the "pleasure" of B&B and felt we most definitely did not get value for money. When we complained we were offered another nights accommodation free at an alternative Best Western which we were unable to book due to unavailability. As a result we will avoid Best Western hotels in the future.

Room Tip: There was no lift in the hotel so access was a problem for those with mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night as our transit on our way back to Edinburgh In April 2013. The room hotel is OK but it is too noisy and the shower didn't work. Breakfast was provided but nothing special. The hotel doesn't have elevator so you have to carry your luggage upstairs. Not just that, the stairs are very squicky, so even when you are already in the room, you will still be able to here other guests steps. This is not good when you are trying to sleep. You could also could here showers from your upstairs guests. No gym or swimming pool facility. The receptionist was friendly though. She called us after 5 minutes after we got it just to check if everything was OK. I'm afraid I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Bathgate
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed in this chain of hotels all over Britain and this is by far the worst one i have visited.........

I stayed for two weeks between weekends.

Poorly greeted at reception, very unwelcoming, little to no parking.

The rooms were decent enough and clean but not much more.

This was a company booking but would definitely not stay there if paying myself.

Stayed early march 2013

Room Tip: rooms at the next hotel!!! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beni-Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
939 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing