We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mixed bag”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mixed bag”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night in this lovely hotel in the centre of Fort William and were greeted by happy, polite, helpful and well dressed staff.
Our room was comfortable, warm and cosy and well equipped. The toilet/shower were modern and spotlessly clean.
We usually dine in any hotel we stay at to try out their quisine but on that night there was a private function which was held in the hotel dining room and therefor was off limits to other patrons. Whilst the staff offered the same menu as the restaurant to eat in the bar. We felt that this was no compromise and decided to eat elsewhere. We did use the restaurant the next morning for breakfast which was perfectly adequate and comfortable.
Over all we were very happy with this hotel which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations and also happy that you had a comfortable and an enjoyable experience at the hotel. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations with regards to Restaurant bieng fully booked and we couldn't offer you the place and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Sincerely
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    204
    174
    80
    70
See reviews for
67
334
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we were staying at this hotel as we were attending a 21st party here.From the minute we arrived, the friendly staff made us feel very welcome, our room was really lovely, warm and spotless and had the most fab views. during the party, staff were always smiling and really helpfull. we really enjoyed our time at this hotel and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and we are delighted to have your nice comments with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial Hotel. Your positive response gives us and our staff encouragement to go the extra mile to make each and every guest’s stay a satisfying one.
Once again we would like to thank you for your appreciation about the services which you received at our establishment.
Hope to see you again in future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Imperial. We were a bit apprehensive about our stay after reading some of the tripadvisor comments. Please ignore any negative comments. Check in and check out was fantastic. Very quick and the receptionist was extremely helpful and polite. The way it should be!!!!!! We were also helped to our room as we had too much luggage! The room was lovely. I think it must have recently been renovated. Very clean and modern. We ate in the restaurant. £10 for 2 courses. Food was lovely and the service was excellent. Hotel is in an excellent central location. Don't be put off about the parking. There is a public car park adjacent to the hotel which you can use if the hotel car park is full. It is free after 6pm on a Sat until a Mon morning. It is not expensive prior to 6pm on a Saturday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScOtland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and we do really appreciate your nice comments and especially about the food and the staffs during your stay. Your positive response has been greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our staffs. This will helps us in carrying on the good work for even more satisfying services to all of our customers.

Once again we would like to thank you for your appreciation about the services which you received at our establishment.

Hope to see you again in future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, staff were friendly and the views around the hotel were beautiful. Despite booking a four-poster double room we got a standard bed, but it was very comfortable and we did book it last minute, so we assumed the four-poster bedrooms were gone. The TV was in an odd place right up near the ceiling, but we were not there to stay in the room the whole time, so wasn't a problem. Breakfast was good, although the toast was barely warm by the time me got it. Overall, a good last minute find and good value for money. Very handy location for exploring that part of the country! Glencoe Valley is a short drive away, with incredible views of Loch Leven, mountains and little villages on the way. Ben Nevis and several waterfalls are a must-see.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jacuzzi to brighten up your experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations.
We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

Hope to welcome you soon in future.

Regards
Prashant Sincerely
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times. Good location and probably the best place to stay in Fort William town. It is small and cramped so don't expect an easy time walking through with large cases, and the place feels "old". That said the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food is good, especially in the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidElGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback for BEST WESTERN Imperial hotel regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We appreciate your positive feedback for the staff service and food quality specially in the bar.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01397 702040.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the feedback


Sincerely,

Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are just back from spending a 4 day break at this hotel in Fort William over the New Year break. I loved the friendly but still professional approach of the staff on check in, very glad to say this did not change as the time went on with bar staff, dining room staff, cleaning staff etc.

I would say that Best Western should be very proud of their staff at this little gem of a hotel in Fort William. They always greeted you well and were extremely helpful in all areas of the hotel.

Cleanliness and all food selections were first class, thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I can only say I was more than happy with my room, 36 good big double bed, great shower / toilet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted by your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your positive feedback about the exceptional customer service and professionalism of our staffs.

It is always truly rewarding for the team when their efforts are recognised and appreciated.
Your review has been truly motivational for the management and the team who really feel positive when their efforts are recognised by valued guests such as yourself.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look very forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Also Thank you for your Box of Chocolate as well, we all shared that.


Kind regards
Prashant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here on my way to the Isle of Skye at the last minute. Got a very warm reception from Csilla the receptionist and a good value deal. Room was very good with clean shower and en-suite and the breakfast was also fine.

Compared with the prices Premier Inn wanted it was a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your valuable feedback and in naming one of our staff for her best effort towards customer service during your recent stay with us.

I will complement her for your thoughts and will ensure that each of our member follows the same or better to please each of our valued guests.

Your feedback is a vital part of moving forward and ensuring we are meeting and exceeding your expectations every step of the way.

We very much hope to welcome you back very soon! .
Kindest Regards
Prashant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing