We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inverskilavulin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inverskilavulin
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Inverskilavulin from the 21st of the 28th of July. What a great experience we had.
The owners and caretaker still understand the true meaning of hospitality. The house was immaculately clean and soo welcoming. It was a real pleasure coming back “home” after a full day out.
The environment offers stunning views and really allows you to get totally relaxed. It is a real paradise for holidays and unwinding.
The area is very suitable for walking, trekking and mountain biking right at your doorstep.
We have seen so many birds, eagles and plenty of deer and a lovely pine marter was visiting us every evening, making it truly a vacation to remember.
In short, this has been our best family holiday in Scotland and we are looking forward to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRegnerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in Beinn Loy last year (September 2011) but I never got round to doing a review which is a shame as it was a really great short break for us. The estate is lovely and the lodge we stayed in was beautiful, well looked after and very spacious (there were only two of us though). It had beautiful views, was very well equipped and even had a washing machine which isn't always the case in these self catering lodges.

We chose this accommodation for the peace and quiet and that is what we got. Be aware the shops are quite a drive away, there isn't a local corner shop to get basics from and no pubs or restaurants to walk to. This didn't bother us at all, it's how we like our holidays, but it's worth knowing if you're considering going to Inverskilavulin.

One minor complaint we had was that the bed had a base valance sheet on (the type that goes under the mattress) and this sheet was obviously not changed with the other bed linen. There were dog hairs all over it (pets are allowed). Personally dog hairs don't bother me, my dog sleeps on our bed at home (she wasn't with us this time as we came to climb Ben Nevis) but what did bother me is that ALL the bedding wasn't changed each and every time guests change over. I told the manager and she was going to ensure it didn't happen in the future. Also we had a little mouse living with us, these things can't be helped, all you can do is try and catch them, but just be aware of this and keep your food in mouse proof containers.

I would absolutely love to return to Inverskilavulin one day in the future, it's clean, tidy, well maintained and peaceful. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MowgliKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddinxveen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

In May 2012 we stayed in the Beinn Bhan Lodge. It is an amazing place to be, with excellent view on the Ben Nevis. The logde is well equiped, good beds with quality sheets and towels. We had a very warm welcome by the owners and a pine marter at night. So close to nature, we enjoyed the peacefulness of the estate. Perfect place to start hiking, watching wildlife and exploring the Scottish West Highlands. Thank you for making our stay special and unforgetable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline_vDijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I spent our 2nd anniversary by touring the Highlands of scotland. Recommended by one of our friends, we stayed in Beinn Loy Chalet of inverskilavulin. All facilities are just perfect for self catering, especially the Egyptian cotton bedlinen and towels which I like so much. Even the lounge can overlook Aonach Mor & Ben Nevis. What a fantastic and lovely place, we should definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We all enjoyed our stay at Inverskilavulin Lodges. It was so tranquil and a very beautiful part of the world. Amazing to be so close to nature. A great place to have as a base for hiking and biking. The owner s were so helpful with sharing their knowledge of the area. Outdoor pursuits abound. We plan to come back in June to do some sailing and more hiking. It was so beautiful in Winter so its going to be like Heaven on Earth in the summer

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBSWestSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanya, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Inverskilavulin is a fantastic place to visit, my friend and I stayed in the last December, walking through the place, it was amazing that you still could see some stags running around.

I love the highlands, a place where I had dreamed about for years.

The Inverskilavulin lodges design is exceptionally good for self-catering and very cozy to live. Definitely will bring my family together for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverskilavulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverskilavulin

Property: Inverskilavulin
Address: Glenloy | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverskilavulin Estate is situated in Glenloy and just 9 miles from the centre of Fort William. Inverskilavulin is a very special place, Beinn Bhan and Beinn Loy our two holiday lodges, are the ideal holiday home for small families and couples. These luxury two bedroom lodges nestling at the foot of one of Scotland's Corbett hills are not far from the Caledonian Canal, and Neptune's Stair Case at Banavie. The lodges have been furnished to a very high standard with wooden floors, marble bathrooms and Egyptian cotton bed linen and towels. With fantastic panoramic views from your lounge over Aonach Mor & Ben Nevis, enjoy watching the wildlife - Red Deer and Pine Martins from the comfort of your home. There are also plenty of good places to eat, and lots of Pubs to have a drink and enjoy the local hospitality. After a day out, whether sightseeing or doing more strenuous activities, imagine sinking into the comfort of deep padded leather sofas, alongside a cosy wood-burner perhaps with a good book and a wee dram! - What better way to relax and unwind. For, those who just cannot exist without their modern comforts, you will find all the facilities you would expect from such luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverskilavulin Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing