We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a challenge”
Review of Ben Nevis

Ben Nevis
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.51*
and up
Group Walk up Ben Nevis from Fort William
More Info
$60.79*
and up
Glencoe, Ben Nevis and Loch Ness Day Tour from Edinburgh
More Info
$60.79*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fondly called "Ben" by the locals, Britain's highest mountain towers 4,406 feet above the town of Fort William.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a challenge”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a feeling when you have done it ! We went with global adventure challenges, they are so organised, I would recommend you really have to train ! But wonderful

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,303
    312
    46
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Campsite”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Ben Nevis campsite excellent site good clean facilitys and reasonable price. Only down side was the strong wind and rain which started at about 1am. Not good dropping a tent at 6am in torrential rain and wind at 6am.

Helpful?
Thank TELLIS247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,102 reviews
513 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a truly beautiful experience and should not be missed, I agree words cannot describe these beautiful views. A must do when in Scottland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Brilliant mountain”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A long day needed but worth the walk for the amazing views. Plenty of food and drinks needed and sturdy footwear.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mepbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Simply amazing....”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Words won't do this justice and it's not just about the views. The attached picture shows the trig point on the summit in cloud/fog but the getting there was the experience. Not all of it was pleasant and your knees, calves, thighs and anything else that makes up your legs will hurt. The feeling of getting to the top makes up for all of it as you really feel you've achieved something and the people you meet on the way are great. The experienced ones give you encouragement and the newbies, like me, have a laugh about how daft we are to do it! Lastly, thanks and good luck to the three Scots girls who also struggled up with me and we passed each other at different times and in different levels of tiredness. Their offer of the 'wee dram' of whisky at the top was really appreciated and it tasted great. Almost as good as the beer at the bottom three hours later!.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis also viewed

 
Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Ben Nevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing