We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost made it”
Review of Ben Nevis

Ben Nevis
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.34*
and up
Group Walk up Ben Nevis from Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fondly called "Ben" by the locals, Britain's highest mountain towers 4,406 feet above the town of Fort William.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost made it”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Take Crampons to get to the top at this time of year we didn't follow the advice and the ice beat us! Amazing views even if you only get part way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcfctom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,228
    297
    44
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big Ben”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A lot of people were on the mountain, but that was to be expected for such an iconic peak. Take it nice and slow, and you'll get to the summit, with no particular difficulty, in around four to five hours; coming down is actually more hazardous, thus a little care is required. Needless to say, so I'll write it:), the views from the summit are spectacular on a clear day (bring a map and compass to pick out the islands, mountains, lochs, and valleys), which is, fortunately, what we got. Considering the volume of hikers who tackle Ben Nevis, the path is in good nick. All in all, a must do in The Highlands.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“That's a mountain”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I did not climb the mountain but visited the information center. The worker was very helpful and knowledgeable to a couple of young men who were going to climb. The travel center has a wide selection of items to aid an unprepared hiker.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice wee hill”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Carn Mor Dearg arete is great fun in winter - providing you've got your crampons on! Also one of the few hills where you can really get out of the wind to eat your sandwiches thanks to the hut on top.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent - but be prepared”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ben Nevis has something for everyone and is magnificent. If you go prepared for weather changes (you'll find snow even in summer) and have the skills to deal with the conditions you find, you'll have a grand day out.

The "Mountain Track" from Glen Nevis is a bit of a slog and gets very busy, especially in summer. However, there are alternatives. Just above the "Halfway Lochan" the main path bends right but a less well defined path takes you straight on and curves around the north side of the mountain to the CIC hut. The rock architecture here is breathtaking and every gully, ridge, buttress and face of this side of the mountain is laced with legendary rock and ice climbs.

From here, hill walkers with some experience can head up the steep side of Carn Mor Dearg and cross the superb "CMD Arete" before the final ascent to the summit. Returning via the Mountain Track makes for a partly circular walk and a good hill day.

If you've got some walking and scrambling experience and want to take advantage of long summer days, why not try the following:

Park at the North Face Car Park (near Torlundy on the road towards Inverness). Outrunning the swarms of midges that greet you in summer, ascend through the trees and follow the Allt a'Mhuilinn to the CIC Hut. This avoids the crowds in Glen Nevis.
From the CIC Hut follow the Ledge Route (see Ben Nevis and Glen Coe - Cicerone Press) - an utterly brilliant Grade 1 scramble amongst much more difficult crags. On reaching the summit plateau at Carn Dearg, a bit of care is needed skirting the steep gullies of the north face before joining the throng on the summit proper. From there descend to the CMD arete and thence to Carn Mor Dearg, Carn Dearg Meadhonach and Carn Beag Dearg. A descent on slightly wobbly legs to the car park completes a proper mountain day. If you're a reasonably experienced walker, I strongly recommend it.

Climbers and mountaineers will drool at the endless possibilities Ben Nevis has to offer. Whether it's a summer or winter ascent of Tower Ridge, Ice climbs like Point Five Gully or classic rock routes such as Centurion.

So while an ascent via the zigzags of the Mountain Track has its advantages, there is much more to Ben Nevis. Take care though. Even the easiest route on a fine day can change if the mist comes down or rain or snow arrives in the teeth of a gale. So take warm clothes and a waterproof. Getting off the summit has been made safer by the large navigation columns at intervals on the track, but in poor conditions it's still easy to stray off the path and onto dangerous ground. Knowing how to use your map and compass is a good idea, as is a mobile phone for emergencies.

The top looks at its best after fresh snow, because it covers the litter which accumulates. Leave only footprints and have a brilliant day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis also viewed

 
Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Ben Nevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing