We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing chips”
Review of Tavern Cafe Bar

Tavern Cafe Bar
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At the Tavern a warm welcome, fantastic food and a great selection of wines, spirits, beers, soft drinks and coffee is always guaranteed!Located on Fort William High Street, the Tavern offers quality Gastropub style food. We offer lunch and evening meal menus.The Tavern is a popular destination for visitors and locals 12 months of the year. Our Head Chef takes great pride in sourcing local fresh produce which is prepared from fresh when you order.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing chips”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Great dinner, cheap prices and very nice staff. it's not high class and fine dining, but it's good food and cheap that does the job before climbing the mountain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    230
    76
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place but toilets smelly”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had lunch in the Tavern. Place was busy, and we had to wait a few minutes for a table, but staff were polite and apologetic. Food and drinks were served quickly and efficiently, and the food was very good - excellent soup! The only real issue with the place was the state of the toilets - they were extremely poor when compared to the place in general, and despite it only being lunchtime, were already very smelly indeed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andylovescatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Soup to die for.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited the Tavern Cafe Bar twice last week with our Grandson. The food was excellent and as the title suggests, the soup was amazing probably the best I've ever had (hope the wife doesn't see this!!) the staff were brilliant and even entertained our Grandson and gave him jigsaws to complete. I would thoroughly recommend anybody to give the Tavern a go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meercat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great pricing idea, ok if you drink lager or Guinness”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

On the evenings its open, its well worth a visit. On Thursday to Saturday, the price is the time you arrive. Very efficient staff, quick service and an ok menu. Nice buzzy atmosphere. Just leaving as the live musician was starting on Saturday, which was a shame, but we were tired.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martleshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
“nice wee place”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My fiancee and i stayed in FortWilliam for 2 days passing through, misersable weather and not much going on!. We nipped in to the Tavern on Thursday for a coffee after lunch as we didnt find much more to do!. We saw the food going out and wished we'd found this place earlier!. We were told about 'beat the clock' which is on in the evening, we decided to go for this on Friday and what a lovely meal we had the food was very nicely presented espesially the fajitas!. The atmosphere was great, there was a large party in enjoying themselves, the waitresses were lovely, when i saw these last two reviews, i cant believe its the same place as we visited twice and will be back and recommend! Lovely people, food and its always nice when the toilets are clean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tavern Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing