We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Evi_02
Salinas, California

Stunning!!!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 21, 2019
Inverlochy is an exquisite place to stay. You really feel like you are royalty when stepping unto the property. The staff is amazing and the accommodations superb.
The grounds are most lovely and much spaces to roam, you can find the hidden door the a lovely garden, to some gravestones set beneath the trees off a beaten path.
We stayed one night and wish we had stayed at least one more. We had a lovely room with a view of the grounds garden chess set and tower with the flag and woods beyond.
Dinner was a wonderful experience that started with pre dinner drinks in the oh so well decorated parlor and the food was delicious that melted in your mouth. I would say if you really want o feel like royalty for one night this would be the place to have this experience. They even let you mail a postcard for free with their own stamp....... Lovely billiard room, card room and just anything your heart desired.
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us from start to finished. At Inverlochy, we take great pride and genuine care in ensuring our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am delighted that this was the case for you and that you had the chance to explore everything that the hotel has to offer.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the team and we all hope to welcome your return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$248
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
3.0 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
$266
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
    $275
3.0 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Tripadvisor
    $199
2.2 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
$160
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $160
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$318
$291
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $291
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
3.3 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
$279
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $244
  • Agoda.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $244
2.1 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free Wifi
Premier Inn bedroom
$228
$212
  • ZenHotels.com
    $228
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
2.4 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
$244
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Lol.travel
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $291
3.1 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Bay Caledonian Hotel
$133
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Skyscanner.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $243
4.9 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$327
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $327
4.7 miles from Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Fort William
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveler rating
736
144
55
37
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
736
144
55
37
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu drawing room queen victoria michel roux junior suite dining room luxury hotel the hotel manager public rooms memorable stay ben nevis scottish highlands breakfast and dinner isle of skye stunning views sommelier watson
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2019

The grounds and building of this exceptional hotel make any stay here thoroughly memorable. Our dog was warmly welcomed and given his own cushion to sleep on. Our room was beautifully appointed (the TV hidden in a mirror was a first for us!) and quiet and the view of Ben Nevis from our room was really special. We had a lovely walk around the grounds and the kitchen garden.
Our only disappointment was the dinner: we had a tasting menu and 2 of the courses were frankly substandard and the others were just ok. Maybe because it was a Sunday evening but we had expected better and felt our anticipation of the meal was badly let down.
It was also a very expensive night which would have been fine if the meal had been as exceptional as the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleClement
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community and I am glad to read you have enjoyed your overall stay.

I will make sure to pass on your words onto the team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

Can’t say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Physically impressive, with warm and welcoming staff who met us at our car to retrieve our luggage, and then checked us in and escorted us up the splendid staircase to our luxurious, large room, perfectly furnished to be both period perfect and insanely comfortable. The dining experience was one of the best we’ve ever had, from pre-dinner drinks in the parlor to the most exquisite Chateaubriand we’ve ever tasted. Once again the knowledgeable staff was friendly and their service is impeccable. Breakfast was another delight, as were the gorgeous grounds made for walking. Every conceivable detail was immaculate. There are not enough superlatives to do Inverlochy Castle Hotel justice. The only thing better than two nights there? Three or more nights there!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 179lindsaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Guest

I am thrilled to read your comments and to learn you have enjoyed your experience at Inverlochy Castle Hotel.

I am very happy to read that you did enjoy the dining experience and found our service to be as it should be and you had the chance to explore what the hotel had to offer, I will be sure to pass to our team your kind words. I do hope to welcome your return in the near future.

Kind regards

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

This was the most wonderful experience and loveliest places we have ever stayed at.
They made us feel like we were home! They were kind, helpful and just overall wonderful.
The food was amazing, our room was so cozy and just lovely. We walked the grounds for several hours, truly just beautiful.
Thank you for such a wonderful experience and stay!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank suzyq4ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2019

it was such an amazing experience. All the staff were friendly and very accommodating. We were treated like a queen and king. Food was delicious, from breakfast to dinner. You can't go wrong staying and having a meal at this castle hotel. If you need anything, just ask and they will do their best to assist you. Highly recommend!

Room tip: Get the full experience by getting a suite!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tymliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay at Inverlochy Castle Hotel.

We take great pride in our service and just thrilled to read that you enjoyed all. I will pass your kind words to the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you again at Inverlochy Castle Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019

Inverlochy Castle is now in its 50th year and right from the start it acquired a reputation as one of the UK’s grandest luxury hotels. Of course, there is a lot of competition in this sector nowadays (Glenapp for example) but back then it was a trailblazer, overseen by the Canadian owner’s wife, Grete Hobbs, and by the chef, Mary Shaw, straight out of the Mrs Patmore School of Cookery.

For years, Inverlochy was a formal place with jacket and tie de rigueur for dinner. The decor was fussy and chintzy and the place was run on the grandest lines, like The Ritz or Claridge’s. Guests could imagine they were actually staying at Balmoral. And of course, Queen Victoria famously stayed here.

But times change and Inverlochy has now passed into Chinese ownership with a large input from the flourishing Roux empire in Scotland. Those arriving - perhaps in the hotel’s Rolls-Royce - might be relieved to discover that the ambience is a lot more relaxed these days. The rooms have been skilfully updated - gone are the swaggy curtains and chintzy wallpapers and in comes Farrow & Ball, walk-in showers, roll-top baths, Bang & Olufsen radios, TVs disguised as mirrors, brilliant wifi. Our large room, Torlundy, was a very pleasant place to stay, complete with a panoramic view of Ben Nevis when it wasn’t hiding sheepishly in the rain and mist.

Downstairs are the large salons - huge and lofty chandeliered spaces which somehow manage to be homely. There are also two dining rooms - we were in the one with blue chairs, a stunningly romantic setting for dinner with light dancing off the glassware and silver.

The dress code has been relaxed of late - men are now only required to wear a jacket and every male conformed on the night we stayed, though the man nearest to us was also wearing jeans and trainers along with a jacket.

We had requested a roast grouse for our dinner but on arrival they explained the grouse were not of Inverlochy quality so they prepared partridge instead. While we would have much preferred grouse (we get partridge locally but never grouse) the meal was highly accomplished and delicious. Breakfast was a little disappointing with undercooked poached eggs which rather ruined the hollandaise sauce.

To sum up: we were expecting something rather staid and hushed, but Inverlochy was relaxed and even quite buzzy. The staff are pitch perfect in every department. It’s expensive - we paid about £750 for the night - but taking everything into account we felt it was value for money.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Inverlochy Castle Hotel and you had a memorable experience. this is truly what we hope for our guest whilst staying with us.

It brings me so much joy to read that everything was up to your expectation and I will make sure your kind words will be passed to the team and we look forward to seeing you again,

Kind Regards

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews