We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in January. I loved the discretion and under-statement of the hotel from the moment of check through to departure. The serice was friendly and relaxed but at all times professional. We had the Queen's Suite which was beautifully appointed in the traditional style but still with mod cons such as plasma TV and Internet access - but did you really need them? People who moan about 'old furnishings' such as mirrors and curtains are obviously not used to the style of other world class hotels such as The Splendido, Pellicano and The Cipriani.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hf128219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 622 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2006

The service, location and public rooms were excellent. The Queen's suite, where we stayed however was uncomfortable and dated. We were certainly disappointed and the bar prices seemed quite high for the West coast, even by 5 star standards. The food was modern and well presented but tasted unpleasant and was poor value for money. One compensation: Fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flydigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
15
Reviewed February 1, 2006

From the moment we arrived the beauty hit us, the old castle just looked out of this world with the stunning lake and terraces. The valet rushed out, an umbrella appeared (as a couple of drops of rain had fallen!) our car was parked and we were welcomed by name by the extreemly professional head of house. We spent the entire weekend being pampered to the extreme, our king suite was huge and I just adored winding my husband up by reminding him of all the stars that had slept in our bed Elton John, Robbie Williams, Madonna, Sean Connery and Richard Gere to name a few! We ate breakfast in our room looking out of one of our windows at Ben Nevis and the lake from the other, the huge palatial bath and walk in shower would have been enough!! The food was second to none but the best part of this luxury retreat is the privacy, you can just glimpse the staff behind a door waiting to welcome you by name or hovering in the wings to beat you to your chair so they may seat you. They were very personable but were always extremely respectful and lowered their heads when speaking to you, Inverlochy Castle has now become our favourite hotel of all time which is saying something!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We stayed at the Inverlochy Castle Hotel for five nights over Christmas and Boxing Day. It was just fantastic! We arrived on a dreary day after driving from Edinburgh to a very friendly welcome and seamless check in. Our car was met on arrival and luggage unpacked and taken up to the room. They also valet parked the car for us.

The room was lovely. Very big and roomy – with very nice furnishings. The whole castle is very well maintained and in excellent condition. Our room overlooked Ben Nevis and a lake in front of the castle. The website is quite accurate in terms of what the room looked like and its views.

We had our 6 yo daughter with us and they did so much to make her feel welcome. There was only one other child staying at that time but not once did we feel that children were not welcome.

The meals were just outstanding – easily amongst the best food we have eaten in the UK and around the world. Dinners are quite an event too. Men have to wear a jacket and tie (there is no way around this!) and so the atmosphere is sort of upmarket dining room but not stuffy in any way. We quite enjoyed getting dressed up for dinner! There was a choice for entrée, main and dessert each night except for the Christmas meal where there was a set menu. Every meal was just divine – a real experience in itself. There was also a choice for breakfast.

The staff went to great effort to know who you are and to offer excellent service, all without being intrusive in any way. The management staff are very approachable and circulate discretely amongst the guests to make sure all is in order.

The only negative is that people can smoke in the main sitting area as you walk though to go upstairs to the room and the circulation is poor and so the smell of smoke is quite overwhelming. I understand that Scotland is changing its laws on smoking shortly which may make it illegal to smoke in areas like this from March 2006. This is great as it kept us from sitting in the room

I can highly recommend Inverlochy Castle Hotel. It would be just wonderful for a honeymooning couple or just for getting away from the everyday.

8  Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

Inverlochy Castle is somewhere I have wanted to stay for as long as I've been a real student of travel, which is to say more than 20 years. And, given that it is so unique and such a wonderful property, it almost seems like finding ants at a picnic to say anything negative about it, but Inverlochy, for all its magic, is not without faults. Having made my reservations for our rooms and for private dining in The Library six months in advance, it was more than a little offputting to then have the greeter immediately ask us when we arrived if we wanted to dine in the Red Room instead, even though she quickly assured they had no available times in that venue until 9 p.m. or later. She said the view was lovely there, although I wasn't sure how one could see any view at all in the dark of night. I could only assume that someone else wanted The Library and she was assigned the job of trying to talk us out of it (unsuccessfully), but I found that very troubling for one's initial impression of a hotel. I had also reserved a table six months earlier for breakfast in the Red Room (so we could see the view in daylight), but this same woman advised when we arrived that breakfast would only be served in the Green Room, again without explanation.
The best thing about Inverlochy is the food, which is wonderful and an incredible treat. But to be in a five star hotel and have a burned out bulb on the make-up mirror and have the back of the mirror be, for lack of any better word, "filthy" was very troubling. But most troubling to our party was for the manager to walk by as the women in our party were struggling to load luggage into the vehicle the next morning and greet us but not even raise a finger to help us even though we had just spent $800 U.S. per couple to stay in his hotel. Also, our recommendation would be that the piano player play a little less vigorously and that the lights in the main hall be dimmed a little for cocktail hour. The bright lights and loud piano music were not really relaxing as a cocktail hour should be.
The devil is in the details, and it is in the details that Kinnaird, near Dunkeld, shines above Inverlochy. The former doesn't miss a beat. Perhaps the latter is resting on its laurels?

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelgirl4Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2005

we got married there this year and it really made it something to remember,everyone said how beautiful the wedding photos were.
The staff are marvellous and the food comes direct from heaven.
Will return one day for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plutonio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
328
Reviewed October 17, 2005

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at this fabulous country manor. Although very elegant, there was a comfortable atmosphere, not the stiff feel one can get from these places. Each room was different (we toured several, as the castle was bought out for a wedding the day we checked out). The views were of the Scotland of Brigadoon and the meals were delicious. Although we did not take advantage of the boat, we enjoyed walking the beautiful grounds and the small walled garden. Impeccable yet unobtrusive service just set this hotel a cut above.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
11 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
12.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $427 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing