We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful wedding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful wedding location”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was here for my daughters wedding the weekend before Christmas. The whole experience was quite magical. The staff were so friendly ,the rooms were beautiful,the food amazing. We all wish we could re-live the experience . In spite of our sumptuous surroundings we felt very comfortable and at ease. My daughter and her husband had a wonderful start to their life together.

Room Tip: We occupied a variety of rooms including the king suite. They were all lovely. The suite was spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moomin870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you and the newly-weds enjoyed their Wedding experience; we do aim to provide a warm and homely atmosphere for all and treat all guests as friends. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit and hope to see the newly-weds celebrate their anniversaries with us.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    79
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
117
325
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had an amazing time living the life of luxury at a beautiful hotel. Will most certainly return in the future. The staff for excellent. The food was magnificent and the rooms were huge!

Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Swelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; we are very proud of our team and food at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I were in Edinburgh on business and took a side trip (long side trip) for 1 night to Inverlochy Castle. The ride up through Glen Coe was spectacular.
At check in we were a bit early so we walked the grounds, took some photographs, and just lost track of time.
Our room was beautiful, the people were so nice, it was just a great experience.
We paid for DBB which means Dinner, Bed and Breakfast (had to figure that one out), but being a picky eater, I really was having a tough time choosing from the menu. Very fancy stuff that my wife said was incredible. The chef came out and offered to make me what I wanted. I was so afraid that I insulted him, but he was very nice about it. Meal was great! Thank you so much.
In the end what this place gave me and my wife was a lasting memory of a perfect day and night.
Thank you Inverlochy Castle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ODDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Castle and grounds did not fail to impress; we are very proud of our kitchen at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, our chef is always more than happy to work with our guests to deliver that memorable meal. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I and another couple booked for one night in November and we were not disappointed with the experience. From the setting to the interior, from the service to the food from the room to the atmosphere - all fantastic. I do question the reviews on this website and what people expect but having been to many fantastic locations across the world - this rates in the top 10! Don't believe the poor reviews on this website - get to Inverlochy Castle - you will be more than impressed.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what your room is like, spend time in the public areas, they are beautiful and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinefdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. We are so happy to hear that the Castle has lived up to expectations and that you rate it so high, we always endeavour to deliver excellence. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was our 4th visit and it was as wonderful as ever. The staff are efficient and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Our room was nicely furnished, big comfortable bed, lovely sheets, great shower ....
We find Inverlochy a home from home, not that we live in a grand house! As my daughter said, "It's not like a hotel, it's as if we live here and just have some lovely people looking after us."
For me, no other hotel matches the service we've always had there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halcyon_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our newly refurbished bathrooms and that Inverlochy Castle did not fail to impress, I am so glad that all the staff looked after you during your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We loved this hotel. The building itself is everything a "castle" should be: huge main hall with blazing fire, grand staircase, etc. We were very warmly welcomed and throughout our stay all the staff were extremely helpful and professional. After being slightly underwhelmed a few days previously at another "castle" hotel, Inverlochy Castle was a treat. The hotel is very well managed.

Stayed in the Queen's Suite, a huge room with four poster bed and comfortable sitting area in front of windows overlooking spectacular views. The bathroom is down several steps, so might not be suitable for those with slightly less mobility, but the bathroom itself is wonderful: huge shower with double shower heads, separate tub, double washbasins and ample room for personal toiletries, etc. - which is not the case in many hotel bathrooms!

Meals were excellent, with professional service, and it was great not to have to look at fellow diners in jeans, etc. The dress code for dinner is a refreshing change from many so-called 5-star hotels.

Enjoyed our stay so much, we've already booked to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our newly refurbished bathrooms and I am pleased that all the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel has the "wow factor". Its location is second to none having Ben Nevis as a backdrop to frame a picture perfect setting. Front of house hotel manager Jane was a very welcoming host who has clearly devoted her life to the hotel and makes everyone feel as though they are more like "family" friends than guests. There was a harpist in the entrance hall on the evening we were there to add another touch of magic. The provision of a rowing boat on the hotel's own lake was another similar touch. The grounds were beautiful especially with the autumn colours and the food certainly deserved its Michelin star. We loved our stay here and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and we are so happy to call you friends of all at Inverlochy Castle; we are very proud of our grounds and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy them during our Scottish winter. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing