We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Molfetta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just a few miles from Fort William, in the heart of scottish highlands, you can taste this magical experience. Surely not a cheap accomodation, but that's not exactly what you're looking for. This is a well-mantained castle with great interiors, furnitures and details.The breakfast with the lake view and the park outside walk are stunning. Surely an unforgettable experience for the eyes and the heart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierbasial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle; we take great pride in the full enjoyment of our guests stay at Inverlochy . We are happy to hear the views have made an impression on yourself and hope they stay with you until you return. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    79
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
117
325
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having just stayed in a wonderful lodge the previous night, my expectations were very high for the Inverlochy Castle, especially as it was a Relais & Chateaus property. It was definitely a beautiful building, and the room was large and cozy. And having two separate bathrooms was an amazing surprise. But somehow, I was left feeling something was lacking. Pre-dinner drinks started as off on a poor note. They had a large selection of single malts in the menu but was told that my first two selections were unavailable. The waiter was also not too knowledgeable about the different distilleries. Dinner was ok. Overall, overpriced for the experience we got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ludette867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am saddened to read that your experience at Inverlochy wasn’t up to the high standards we aim to achieve and I apologise for this. I am pleased to hear your comments on the castle and rooms and glad they met expectation. I have taken your comments onboard with regards to the whisky choice and with over 90 whiskys in stock to choose from we aim to have alternatives should we ever be out of stock of. I am also very saddened to read your comments regarding your dinner as we pride ourselves on the dining experience in Inverlochy Castle and apologise if you feel that you did not experience this and if this has shadowed your overall stay.
Should you wish to discuss anything you have outlined above or any other concern then please do not hesitate to contact me directly on:

janewatson@inverlochy.co.uk
01397702177

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is truly something out of a fairytale! The service is spectacular. The rooms are True royal bedding and décor. The food is cooked to perfection and the service is quite personable. The staff are very accommodating and overly attentive to your every request. The appetizers prior to dinner are extraordinary. The overall experience is something you should experience at least once in your lifetime!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nervoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle. We are happy to hear that you felt treated like Royalty and that all aspects of your stay lived up to this. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Inverlochy Castle for 2 nights, and our expectations were high given the price of the rooms and dinnner not included. The service is very poor, there is clearly no experienced staff that work there, and they do not know how to provided first class service. The housekeeping was bad, bins not emptied at nights bath mats not changed for the entire stay. It was a real disappointment, albeit the location is stunning. The hotel owners clearly do not invest in the property, the walled garden was disgraceful and as for the tennis court, give it a miss..... They could do so much better

Room Tip: Our room facing the Lake was large, albeit very dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am saddened to read that your experience at Inverlochy weren’t up to the high standards we wish to achieve or cater for the high expectations you had for your visit and I apologize for this. I have taken your comments onboard with regards to the house keeping issues and will deal with this directly and immediately. This is not the normal practice of our turndown service so I thank you for making me aware of these issues. I am also very saddened to read your comments regarding the walled garden and tennis court. I remember our discussion fondly on the matter of how the gardeners were very much in to their seasonal transition period with in the walled garden. The kitchen garden section had also recently been excavated for a wide variety of vegetables for use along side some of the excellent produce available to us such as our Perthshire Lamb, Aberdeen Angus Beef and Wild Turbot to name a few. With regards to the tennis court, we are not blessed with an indoor facility and believe that due to the occasional adverse weather conditions experienced in the Highlands of Scotland, it would be unachievable to have a grass or clay facility so we have adopted the all weather option of a set gravel court. When we were talking, you mentioned to me the fact that there was no net in place. This is taken down in the event of high winds and bad weather. Upon the weather being suitable and guests requesting use of the court with in the Autumn and Winter months, the net is replaced promptly whilst guests are obtaining rackets, balls and taking the short delightful walk through the grounds to the court.
Should you wish to discuss anything you have outlined above or any other concern then please do not hesitate to contact me directly on:

janewatson@inverlochy.co.uk
01397702177

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed several nights at the Inverlochy Castle and enjoyed every minute. It is perfectly located to make day tours to Loch Ness, Culloden Battlefield and other attractions. We had a suite that was very large and luxurious and the staff was very helpful and attentive. Wonderful food, beautiful surroundings -- everything you need to have a very memorable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a very wonderful review on your recent visit to Inverlochy Castle. We try our utmost to ensure that guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay as well as a memorable dinning experience, but what is also important for us is making sure we have a vast and in depth knowledge of the area, attractions and sights. I’m happy we were able to make your stay so enjoyable and assist with your daily excursions.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed several days as part of our 'round Scotland holiday and this was the highlight for sure. The castle itself is beautiful, the sprawling grounds with moss covered walking trails and walled garden, meadows and pond with the maintain backdrop are like living a fairy tale. The service is, while a bit stuffy, impeccable and your every whim is satisfied. Shooting clays on the front meadow is quite fun and and a trip in the Rolls is available whenever you are ready. We highly recommend Inverlochy and plan on returning with our twenty-something kids for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcliff98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle. We take great joy in the many guests that return for further visits and stays to Inverlochy and I would be delighted to have you join this list of return guests. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Ourselves and friends had a lovely lunch in beautiful peaceful surroundings.Pre-meal drinks in the drawing room,lunch in a lovely dining room and coffee in the big hall in front of the fire.Quiet peaceful,no rush,excellent service.Food was excellent,very tasty and well presented and served.Only gripe was the very expensive wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWTHOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit for lunch at Inverlochy. I am so very happy to read that you enjoyed your time so much and enjoyed the food and service as much as we would hope all guests to. Thank you for your comments regarding our wine list. We try to source a good variety of wines from all ends of the globe and with a variety of price, high end and some more modest. We will certainly take your comments on board and amend where necessary. Thank you again for your kind comments and joining us for lunch.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing