We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful Scottish castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is absolutely my most favourite Scottish hotel and the best example of Scottish historical buildings. It is great in every aspect and I enjoyed visiting it between times. the beauty of the hotel is marked with the beauty of its surroundings. Within Nevis Range a few minutes walking and the gondola few minutes diving.

Room Tip: Don't miss the ballroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alkhatnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

May I first of all thank you for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle and also for your lovely review. I am so happy to read how you enjoy returning to visit the Castle and appreciate the beauty of the building and its surroundings. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.


Kind regards
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Inverlochy Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 599 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Myself and my new wife had our wedding at the Castle, we found the staff, venue, rooms to the highest standard. They went out of their way to make the day very special for us. The food was amazing, the service excellent and views were spectacular. They helped organise the hair / make up etc for my wife on the day and liased with the photographer and registrar, Thank you for making our perfect day so special,

Room Tip: All the rooms are to an excellent standard
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We here at Inverlochy Castle all feel very proud that we had a role in making your day so special. I hope to welcome you back to the Castle soon, perhaps for some anniversary celebrations.

Kind Regards,
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

my wife and I only went to the restaurant for lunch but what a place! Some of the most beautiful views over the loch and fort William that I have ever seen! The building itself has a masterful feel and amazing furniture! The lunch we had was great! Clean flavour and interesting textures married with classical french technique and the service was exceptional as you would expect from a one star restaurant! Carnt wait to stay over next time we visit Scotland,which won't be long!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch at the Castle, and I am very happy to hear that your short visit has tempted you to return for an overnight stay. I look forward to welcoming you both back.

Kind Regards,
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's been a while: 2008 may. But we have a very warm feeling thinking about this nicely located hotel and staff. We had a very delicious lunch, from vegetables of the hotelgarden. Very tastefull and healthy. We had a walk around the garden with our familie with 2 children. The gardener told us to get closer to him; there where birds nearby with little baby-birds. Also the garden with all the growing vegetables and gardeners could be visited, which we did. Beautifull and peacefull. The location is great tot visit the Ben Nevis and Fort William. Thank you for the nice stay, lunch and walks around the castle which nice, warm memory's.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your past visit. I am happy it left you with such a great impression and I’m sure when you return you will find much the same beautiful scenery, lovely gardens and warm friendly faces to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Inverlochy with our 8 month old baby, in the Prince's suite, for an Albert Roux foodie experience. Our expectations were therefore high! Fortunately, they were truly met. The first night was a 'standard' restaurant experience, and was excellent, giving Mr Roux a lot to live up to, which he did brilliantly. If you want to see how a real master can create then this is the man to do it for you!

What about the hotel?

On the down side, it is slightly showing its age, some of the bathrooms could do with an upgrade, some of the furniture the same. However, for good, old fashioned Scottish hospitality you'll go a long way to find better. This wasn't really a hotel for babies, we felt most guests were there for a quiet weekend but the staff couldn't do enough to help us and to make all three of us feel welcome.

The middle of November is not the best time to see the grounds but someone had taken the trouble to sweep all the paths of leaves each day which made going for a walk a delight.

Overall, a lot of very well trained staff who want to make sure you have a great weekend, a wonderful wine list, great food, lots of special touches such as the toiletries, excellent flowers everywhere. It all adds up to a very special experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HogglesSolihull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

First of all, let me take the time to thank you for visiting Inverlochy and doing so on our special Albert Roux Gourmet event. I am very glad you enjoyed your weekend here at Inverlochy. We really have had some great comments and feedback regarding the event. It was a delight to meet Toby and I hope to see you all again in the near future.



Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went on a two week trip through Ireland and Scotland with my wife. We've never been to the Old Country before,and had our share of some very nice B&Bs. The castle is another animal entirely-wow. I appeared worn from our travels evidently, and the highly attentive staff thought to bring the Whiskey trolley by for a spirit. that was the start of a wonderful two night stay. The rooms were excellent. We went in July and were able to tour the grounds and the walled garden. The dinner the first night was without equal in my life. Service was world class, and the food was insanely good. Even some excellent US restaurants have weakpoints, but the kitchen was firing on all cylinders for us. I already made up my mind to return to FOrt William someday, but Inverlochy made it a definite plan. You see words tossed around to describe this place-lovely, wonderful, superb, exceptional-they are all appropriate. The physical trappings are all in place, but what really makes it is the staff. All very good. I was made to feel respected and clearly cared for. They even had a suit coat and shirt with tie, as I didn't pack that much extra stuff. You can look a very long time for equivalent lodging and food and never come up with the infusion of excellence which we experienced this July at Inverlochy.

Room Tip: Who needs a pool when you have a real, live loch? You may wish to bring a proper suit coat and tie.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El_Hombre_del_Hierro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review for the Trip Advisor community. At Inverlochy, we pride ourselves on an excellent level of service in all aspects of the Hotel but especially so in the areas you mention. I really do hope you make it back to Fort William and especially to Inverlochy. Thank you very much for your kind comments.


Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I took my Wife to Inverlochy Castle for lunch to celebrate our 1st Wedding anniversary. It can be only described as a wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royality.

They well deserve all their awards

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locutus-Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very much for choosing Inverlochy for such an important occasion as your first anniversary. We really do pride ourselves on the food we are able to produce and that this shines through and our guests are able to enjoy. We would be very privileged if you were to return for your second anniversary.


Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
573 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,041 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
711 reviews
12.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $425 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing