We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent light lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in hoping for lunch. We were warmly welcomed in the car park and given a choice of places to have lunch! We chose the drawing room with it's lovely views over the hills.
Our soup was delicious and the salad that followed truly gorgeous. I really loved my cream tea with beautiful warm scones. Service was great friendly and attentive. The hotel decor is fabulous, check out the ceiling in the main hall. A beautiful castle.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank GMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent visit for lunch at Inverlochy. We’re glad you took the opportunity to stop in whilst on your travels. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you once more in the near future.



Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 626 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

My son and I recently stayed at the Inverlochy Castle Hotel whilst touring the Highlands. From the moment our private guide drove us into the estate, we knew that we had arrived at a superb destination; and how right we were. You are greeted as if you are royalty by exceptionally warm and friendly staff. The hotel is simply superb. The main function rooms are magnificently decorated (you could easily feel as though you are at Balmoral Castle) and the bedroom we had was pure luxury. We had a view of the nearby loch and the huge bathroom was wall to wall carpeted making it feel warm and cosy. The room had all the mod-cons (e.g.complimentary wifi, flat-screen TV etc) that you'd expect in a modern 21st Century hotel. The cuisine was sublime. We had a delicious dinner, where the food was beautifully served and presented. It was preceded by drinks and canapes in one of the lounges where a pianist was playing. Coffee was served in another lounge with after-dinner chocolates. The next morning, we had a full Scottish breakfast -wonderful! This hotel, its surrounds, service, rooms, cuisine and atmosphere make it a haven for a peaceful retreat in what must surely be one of the most beautiful settings in the world. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProudlySA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your son to Inverlochy Castle and I am happy to hear how you enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer, I sincerely hope we may welcome you both back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've only been here for tea in their lovely drawing room, but its the best place I've ever been to in Scotland for such things. The view is amazing, the tea is great, and presented beautifully - the only place I know with crocheted tea cosies (not naff, honest!) and a pot of hot water, tea strainer and the works get brought out when you ask for tea) The shortbread was pretty good too - 3 different sorts, although that at the Bunchrew house hotel wins my accolade for best Shortbread in Scotland (and believe me I have tested extensively!). The loos are very grand, and the flower arrangements around the public areas wonderful too. Have dropped by for tea several times and alwas been delighted. I think I might feel a little uncomfortable if I was there in jeans and trainers - its a beautiful place, with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myhighlands2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

I am pleased to read you have taken the time to stop at Inverlochy Castle many times and relax in our beautiful drawing room. We certainly are lucky to be surrounded in some amazing scenery. We welcome such a wide variety of guests for afternoon tea, from hikers trekking through the amazing scenery to families dressed in their finest for a special occasion.
Our in house florist Gail takes care of all the flower arrangements throughout the castle which I feel adds that extra bit of glamour. I look forward to welcoming you back for tea again soon.

Kind regards
Jane Wason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would give this a five star rating if it didn't have carpeting in the bathroom - ew! We had a beautiful suite overlooking the incredible scenery in the area. Overall the staff and food were lovely. Every evening, cocktails in the drawing room with an attentive staff, where you order your dinner. You are called in to the dining room when the meal is ready to be served. Breakfast was wonderful, the staff was very helpful in recommending the day's activities. Absolutely beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. With so many great activities and beautiful places to visit in the area the staff here are always happy to offer advice or assist in planning your day. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Inverlochy Hotel is my favorite hotel in all of Europe. I feel as if I am the lady of the manor each time we visit. The grounds are full of lush, green, gently rolling green hills and stately evergreens. The rooms are elegant, but extremely comfortable. The staff is courteous without too much interference. The cuisine served in the jacket and tie required restaurant is fresh, Scottish fare with European influences. Their Michelin star is well deserved. Visiting the hotel is a chance to get away from the demands of work and truly relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery, relax in elegance and revel in the Scottish Highlands.

My first response to "where do you want to spend vacation?," is "Inverlochy Castle!"

Room Tip: I love the Queen's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DinLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, with so many familiar faces that have stayed with us again and again over the years, it is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests such as yourselves.
I also completely agree that the queen suite is a real treat where you can relax and feel like the lady of the manor.
I look forward you welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it's one of the best places we've ever stayed in. It fully lives up to it's reputation. What sets it apart from almost every other comparable place is the impeccable service we received; despite being far from their usual 'standard' of guest, we were made to feel that as we had spent a not inconsiderable sum of money to stay, we were as welcome as any of the celebrities or millionaires who have been known to frequent this fine old establishment. In fact, the standard of hospitality was so unpretentious that it totally eclipsed some of the supposed 'high-class' hotels that we've experienced around the world (and many of which we have vowed never to return to, due to their condescending attitudes). By contrast, the staff at Inverlochy were attentive without being intrusive, friendly without being overly familiar, and considerate without being patronising.

If you are a 'normal' person who wants to experience how the rich really expect to be treated, I would strongly recommend that you save up for a long weekend at the Inverlochy Castle. It might cost you the equivalent of a week in Spain, but it will be an experience you'll never forget!

Room Tip: They've only got about 16 rooms and I doubt any of them are inferior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

I am delighted to read the lovely review you wrote about your stay here at Inverlochy Castle. I’m glad you chose to spend such a special occasion here and that you felt as special as every other guest who stays. Inverlochy Castle welcomes such a wide variety of people through its doors and I sincerely hope they all feel as welcome as the next. I look forward you welcoming you and your wife back to the Castle in the near future.

Kind regards.
Jane Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I gave a "poor" because of the excellent restaurant, otherwu The hotel seems to be lost in the past. The manager who was always there, was very impolite, the laundry service was awful, I lost a pair of pants because they washed it inadequately. The lobby is kind of old and needs some urgent refurbishment. The pictures are taken in such a way that the awful chimney of the kitchen is hidden by the trees. If you are going to the region stay at the Cameron House. Much nicer and with better service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAMTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I am deeply saddened to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience at Inverlochy Castle. I only wish you had expressed your feelings to a member of the management team during your stay and we would have done everything we could to improve it. I certainly was not aware of any problems with the laundry service as I would have addressed that myself. I would like to invite you to contact me direct to discuss your experience further at janewatson@inverlochy.co.uk

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
11 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,034 reviews
12.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $429 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing