We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A slice of magic”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Inverlochy Castle offers a quintessential country house experience. From the moment we turned through the gate into the beautifully tended grounds until we left four days later, we experienced graciousness in the finest sense of the word, at every level. We have had the pleasure of staying at some of the finest hotels in Europe; this one rates right at the top for me. Unlike many "castle" hotels where the common areas are beautifully decorated but somehow cold or imposing -- thus sit empty most of the time -- the two reception rooms here invited one to sit and relax, enjoy the fire in the grate, a cup of coffee (or glass of whiskey) or the spectacular views from the soaring windows. And they were used this way, creating a congenial atmosphere. The furnishings were comfortable, of high quality (in a classical style), well maintained, and just lovely. Meals were exceptional and served by very pleasant young women who seemed genuinely concerned about answering your every want. (For those who stay several nights, a rotating menu might have been nice.) The pianist and harpist who played during dinner hours added a wonderful touch. Both were very good and thoroughly enjoyable.

A small wedding took place one day, and in contrast to some of our experiences elsewhere, efforts were made to ensure a wonderful experience for the bride and her party but not at the expense of the other guests. I tend to be a fairly harsh (discerning?) critique. That said, Inverlochy Castle is a hit.

Room Tip: Our room, the Queen's suite (#1), was gorgeous, huge, nicely decorated. Magical views, even from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I would like to first say thank you for your kind and descriptive review. The way you described your experience is exactly what we strive to deliver to all guests who stay with us here at Inverlochy. From the friendly staff to the warm fire I am extremely proud of all we have to offer here and all the members of staff here are all a real asset, including Isabel and Krissy the waitresses who took care of you during your stay. I hope we may all welcome you back to Inverlochy castle in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    85
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
122
343
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is my 1st time here, but our family traveling with us had been here before.

They had me at "Hello, Welcome to Inverlochy Castle!". The hotel and grounds were grand but not imposing. Very quiet relaxing and beautiful. The rooms were well appointed and beautifully decorated. Each one is different. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Food was fabulous!

It was a real treat to stay here and we all felt like royalty. Highly recommend if you want a special place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I’m glad you decided to come to the Castle with your family and that you enjoyed your time here so much. I look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we knew we were in for a treat. The manager was lovely, as were all the staff. So friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing, so special and the food was splendid. Thanks so much Inverlochy for making our trip so memorable. We will not forget it in a long while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botanic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I pleased to hear you had such a memorable experience here at Inverlochy Castle and I would like to say thank you for sharing this in such a kind review. I hope you will return to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Inverlochy was our second stop after gleneagles. This was more like it for us, similar to Gleneagles in many ways but more private, posher without being grand, and smaller so we didn't feel lost in the place. Nice staff, dinner okay but again over cheffed food - why can't they just cook it, without resorting to airs and foams and jellies and god knows what else? I suppose it's done to justify 67 quid per person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I’m happy to hear you appreciated to private and exclusive atmosphere the Castle has to offer. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the style of food prepared in the Michelin star Restaurant. Chef is always happy to prepare dishes suited to individual guest’s preferences. I hope you will return in the future and don’t be shy to ask to speak to our head Chef Phillip so he may prepare you something more suited to your tastes.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Inverlochy Castle this week . We nearly didn't stay as the castle was busy and we had booked into the Factor's Inn and it was so basic I couldn't stay there. For the record it's a disused public house in the grounds and if you are the sort who would want to stay in the castle then my advice would be don't book the inn, they do offer it to be helpful but it's a very different thing. Fortunatly June the hotel manager had availability in the gate house which sleeps quite a few so is quite expensive. It was fine just in need of a redec sometime soon but we had a deal and were content. We had our evening meal and our breakfast in the castle and the service was considered and friendly. The fire alarm sounded during dinner (not a fire) and we had to exit, most guests used the opportunity to chat and share the experience of flashing lights on a warm evening whilst drinking the lovely courtesy champagne provided - older guests were invited to sit in the roller. One of the best ways to judge a team and an establishment is during a crisis and in this respect Inverlochy was supreme and most guests were good natured and impressed by the professional and slick response. When we returned to the castle everything started again without missing a beat which was pretty good going as the gas had been turned off! Breakfast in the morning was excellent again and the service was lovely with the staff happy to share their knowledge of the local area and castle history. We will stay again but would book in advance into the castle. NB: As we stayed in the gatehouse some ratings are based on this at full price not the main castle bedrooms.

Room Tip: If you are a castle sort of person don't book the Factor's Inn as it's clean but very ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMac324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, and what an eventful stay you had whilst here, I’m sorry your evening was interrupted by the fire alarm but happy to hear the positive experience it turned out to be getting to know other guests whilst enjoying a glass of champagne on a mild Scottish evening. I hope you do return as I think perhaps a suite in the castle would suit you better. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a fantastic luxury hotel and perfect destination.If you want to treat yourselves to a special get away and truly be spoilt then look no further! The staff were superb and couldn't do enough for us.
They always had a smile and were very accommodating without being pompous.The atmosphere was very relaxed, while being beautifully refined at the same time. We particularly enjoyed our afternoon teas in the drawing room,which were the best we have ever had in Britain. The scones were freshly made and scrumptiously good and just in case that wasn't enough, they also served us the best shortbreads we have ever tasted. The dinner, although good,did not give us the wow factor we had hoped for. To be fair though,it followed on from our visit to Wisharts restaurant in Cameron House, Loch Lomond,which was a brilliant meal and the menu was perfectly balanced to create an harmonious experience..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review I am so pleased you enjoyed the relaxed and beautiful atmosphere here during your stay. If you have any additional feedback about your evening meal at the castle I would very much appreciate it and would like to invite you to contact me direct at janewatson@inverlochy.co.uk as all feedback good or bad is always invaluable. I hope we may welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

One wouldn't think of Scotland of having a plethora of posh palaces, but a stop at Inverlochy Castle is well worth the side trip to Fort William. Having stayed there twice, I would rush for a third time. The beauty, history, landscaping, service and atmosphere make it one of the most experiences in the British Isles. Plus, remarkable food, in the Castle befitting Queen Victoria, for whom one suite was created (and we popped for it second time around.)

Well worth the price and the extra drive!

Room Tip: A room in the "turret", the twin-bedded one with the marble fireplace in the bathroom or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANSH90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, we have so many returning guests and I am pleased to hear you wouldn’t hesitate to return yourself for a little treat. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
536 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,010 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing