We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a pathetic place on earth for food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Garden

Indian Garden
Ranked #56 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One of two Indian restaurants in Fort William. Infinitely better than Spice Tandori.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a pathetic place on earth for food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went to this restaurant with family. Once we enter the person who serving us told us you must order minimum £10 per adult. We felt bad and but we were hungry and told him its fine and the funny part is most of the menu items costs more than £10. Guy came to me and asked me if I would order some food and when I tried to inquired about the dishes he got offended and tried to insult me by saying I need to make my mind before coming inside... what the hell... how rude... I told him I am travelling from Manchester and just trying to ask you about dish size so i know we dont order less or more than what actually we need and he was so rude to me which I cant explain.... definately no manners... Their intention is clear. They want to humiliate us and make it as a big scene and want us to leave the restaurant.

Finally we decided to leave the restaurant before they ask us to leave the restaurant. They are all group of Bangladeshi people selling Bangladeshi food in the name of indian food to white skin people. They don't want to sell the food to any brown skin people. These brown skin Bangladeshi people thinks that only white skin people got money in their packet and they can only sell any spicy food as indian food to white skin people.

I am living here in UK for long time and earning good money and living decent life. I never had such a bad experience in my life in any restaurant in UK. I am writing this review once I enter into my house returning from our scotland holidays.

I am still angry and I know this review is not going to do anything. I am not racist and I treat every one as same human being and I am really apologise for my skin related words. I dont know how to express it. If you are brown skin people, please don't enter into this restaurant. If you are with family and kids, never even go to that street. If you are white skin people, please don't support this Bangladeshi racist selling Bangladeshi food as indian food. Thanks for reading.

I wish I could have read the others review before I enter into that restaurant. Anyhow we went to some other indian restaurant in same area and spent around £150. That's also Bangladeshi restaurant selling Bangladeshi food as indian food but they treated us with respect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adnan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    24
    24
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food and pleasant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a very acceptable meal. Arrived quickly and hot. Service efficient, but not overly friendly. Price was what I'd expect to pay. Would recommend it for a decent and reasonably priced curry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's really quite goood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The service left a little to be desired - we literally had to go over to the bloke and ask for our order to be taken, otherwise we might still be there now.

The food however... was delicious! True, it's probably not very 'authentic'... but who cares when it's this tasty? The saag paneer was the best I've ever had, the dhansak (the dish by which I always judge a curry house) was great - tangy, sweet, lentilly, and above all hot. The chilli chicken was presented almost like a chinese dish, but was again tasty, well flavoured, and with good heat from the fresh green chillies, as one would expect from the name.

All in all, I'll forgive them the initially mediocre service, and I'd definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor customer service - bad behaviour - not at all indian”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is not authentic Indian Restaurant at all....I dont know why they call themselve indian when they dont know how to treat asian.... well they should know how to welcome visitors....they should know how to treat customers.... . These guys are making money in the name of India and doesn't have any respect towards Indians at all.

Staff was so weird....they didnt know how to speak and what to say.... even they cant speak indian language and to me looks like bengali people....keep chatting in their own language rather than using english infront of me which made me feel uncomfortable.....They asking as minimmum order £10 even if I dont want to eat for that much amount but I have to pay for it....why ??? Alot of customers who are seeing the notice were leaving the restaurant and these bloody stupid staff is passing comments on their back.

Real shame for indians as these people using India name and giving a bad service...I guess someone can get more clean toilets than their resturant....

If these guys have guts try changing the name to Bangladeshi garden and i bet none will ever want to give a glance at your restaurant.

worst place to chose for dinner

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Indian meals I have had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant whilst on holiday in Fort William. We could not fault any of the food. There was four of us and we all enjoyed our starters and main course, my chicken tikka masala was very tasty and plenty of chicken in it. The nan breads was lovely as well. Would recommend this Indians.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Garden also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Indian Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing