We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Indian Garden

Indian Garden
Ranked #58 of 68 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of two Indian restaurants in Fort William. Infinitely better than Spice Tandori.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place was deserted on a Friday night and I can see why. Even the poppodoms were tasteless. The food didn’t look nice and didn’t taste nice. I had the garlic chilli chicken and it was an odd mixture of sweet and spicy and was just overly hot for the sake of it (plenty of green chillis) with no taste to recommend. Also not cheap for a curry house. Very disappointing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    24
    24
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Discusting”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Was the worst curry my family have ever eaten! The food was watery like and the meal wasnt cooked properly! Litterally couldnt eat it as it tasted that bad!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst restaurant not friendly”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Food is costly n not worth of money..very poor service.food will not brcustomised as per customer requirement..never recommend..worst restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursdinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wish I had read the reviews earlier”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Something I try not to do - visiting a restaurant without reading reviews about it - and when I do I pay for it. Like I did here. We cannot always research on restaurants, at times we just enter a nice looking restaurant. But such places should be marked red with a danger sign for the traveller community.

I am not reviewing the food here, as I never ate here. Rather, the staff and owner never wanted us to eat.

5 of us, very hungry and tired after visiting the local attractions and travel, in search of an Indian restaurant on a busy weekend evening.

We enter 'Indian Garden' - looks good from outside. Inside it is cramped and dull.
The place was empty, which was surprising as the few other restaurants we tried to get in all had half an hour waiting.

We place the order and wait for 20 mins - already discussing what takes them so long. The waiter then comes and tells us very rudely that the order value does not come to 10£ per person and so they cannot process the order.

What the ..............???? Though a ridiculous rule, but I am still fine with this as they have written this outside on their menu (in small letters).

Why 20 mins to tell us this? Does this mean I cannot be here for a quick drink? Or any meal which is less than 10 £?

The restaurant was empty, they could have earned something through us. Our order might have well reached 10 £ per person. We always order less in first go, as we are not sure about the portion size and taste; then if need be we order more.

These guys are so rude and arrogant that you will be surprised. How can anyone be.
We started walking out and these guys were smiling. They were happy that we are walking out.

One of my friend wanted to smack them down, I wish I had not stopped him; though he still managed to exchange few very sweet words with them.

We later ate at a nearby Chinese joint, which served decent food.

Avoid this at all costs. Even if you have not eaten in last 2-3 days, still avoid.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Meal”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were hungry from a day's worth of exertions. Service was timely and the place filled up fast. Our food was very good and we would return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dudley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Garden also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Indian Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing