We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, tasty local food and great service”

Browns Restaurant at Nevis Bank Inn
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful, tasty local food and great service”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at the Nevis Bank Inn and went to the restaurant the first night out of lazyness. But the food was so great, and the service so courteous, we went back the second night again, for some more wonderful treats. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    183
    51
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely meal to celebrate finishing the West Highland Way”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had a lovely meal at Browns Restaurant couple of days ago, one of the best of our trip. The setting is smart and a bit more upmarket than some of the other establishments that we'd seen in the town centre, but still welcoming to us backpackers dressed in our jeans and walking shoes. The food was delicious and served promptly. Complimentary bread and iced water were also supplied straightaway. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mind how you go.”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Went to this place for lunch to see what it was like. First impressions were ok, but the whole place looks as if it has been moved from a 1990s "trendy bar" in Glasgow. The menu seemed quite interesting and the staff were very pleasant.
I chose a plate of cheese and cured meats and my partner went for a beetroot pakora, we also aske for a jug of water, all was going well. The food took 20 minutes to arrive, which is fine in a busy establishment but there was six other people in and they were all eating already.
My partner's Pakora was greasy, unbeetrooty (infact the predominant taste was old oil) and not a pakora but a baji. My plate is where it got realy interesting. On my plate was the cheapest meats that money could buy without serving dog food but my next discovery was the best thing of them all. For in the middle of my plate was a piece of raw steaky bacon, i kid you not, raw bacon and even at that, the cheap stuff with the knobbly bits in it. We were having a good day out and i was not going to let that change it so i called over the waitress and said quietly that i thought that the chef might have made a mistake. She replied that it was no mistake and that it was Parma ham. To this i replied, sorry that is not Parma ham and maybe she should have a word with the chef, she left and returned two minutes later to say that infact it was pancetta. I said ok that might be the case but at the end of the day it was raw bacon. I left it at that.
On paying, i again mentioned that i thought that there was a mistake and maybe i should have a word to the manager.
The manager appeared and i explained what was happening, to which she replied that i did not know what i was talking about. I then went onto explain to her that 20 years as a classical trained french chef might mean that i do know what i was talking about.
What followed was the most patronising, condesending and downright rude five minutes of my life. At the end, all i said was that obviously they care not for my opinion and there was only one thing for me to do and that was to speak to the enviromental health about eating raw bacon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank CastleMoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek81146, General Manager at Browns Restaurant at Nevis Bank Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Ricoganz
Yes we remember you. You were were the Scottish chap with the long hair who was in for lunch about 9 weeks ago on the second or third day after we opened. You made a huge fuss firstly to your waitress then the manageress because you had been given a slice of cured pancetta instead of Parma Ham on the meat and cheese tasting plate that you ordered.

This was a simple mistake easily corrected and for which we apologise. Please bear in mind that we had been open only a couple of days and the odd mistake should be expected.

However the rest of your statements are a bit wide off the mark. It was noted that you had an absolutely clean plate apart from the pancetta. Mmm quality of the meat can’t be as bad as described? ?
Your partner had the homemade fresh beetroot pakora which has become one of our most popular starters. Cooked in stale oil after only being open 3 days? I think not.
Since you claim to be a classically trained French chef of some 20 years’ experience then no doubt you will be aware that properly cured meat can safely be eaten raw? ??
Lastly when the manageress refused escalate your complaint and said she would discuss your complaint in due course with the chef, you left in the huff.
We welcome constructive criticism but unfortunately yours is not. We note that the only other review you have written is critical of another establishment which you left without paying?
We wish you luck in the future in finding a restaurant that comes up to your standard & hopefully one day you will be able to post a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice food - shame about the service”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had high hopes for this new bar/restaurant in Fort William. It's decor is smart, the welcome was warm and our drinks and food were delivered in good time. The menu is interesting and the kitchen is obviously working hard to produce great food. While the front of house staff were pleasant, the inattentive service really spoiled the experience. We didn't receive any bread (though other diners did), weren't offered a second drink and no-one enquired as to whether everything was OK. When the empty plates were eventually collected, we ordered a dessert but after 20 minutes we gave up waiting (how long does it take to cut a piece of cheesecake?). Seeing as the place wasn't very busy, there really wasn't any excuse. The manager brought the bill (luckily the cheesecake wasn't on there) but still no interest as to whether we were satisfied.

The food was very pleasant, reasonably priced and the location and ambience could make this "the place to be" in Fort William. It's the sort of place that could attract the locals on a regular basis and not disappoint the visitors. We will give it a second chance, but only one more. Come on, Browns - get your service up to scratch and you'll be up there with the best before too long!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank missymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Restaurant at Nevis Bank Inn also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Browns Restaurant at Nevis Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing