We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crofter

The Crofter
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Was at the crofter on Tuesday night had mushroom soup for a starter pretty good, then I had the fish and chips, the fish was very fresh, the batter was excellent and it came with peas all in all pretty good.

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    189
    60
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
“wow”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Me and my partner were on a little trip away to fort william and thought we would pop in here for dinner. The atmosphere was amazing, we were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The food was great value for money and being a fussy eater they catered for my every need and i would tell anyone visiting fort william to check it out. We liked it so much we didnt leave until closing time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snug Harbor, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent x 2”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

While in town we had such a great time at the pub that we returned the following night. The manager Dale went out of his way for a special request that was more than appreciated. A nice bunch of locals, good food, and a overall cool pub. Thanks Dale! It was a smash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“family lunch”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

the food we ordered was fairly basic starters and kids stuff from the menu and would have proved no problem for the kitchen to dish out and was very good apart from the nachos , try not drizzling them with sweet chilli sauce and maybe add some jalapenos and chopped peppers/onions instead which is the way they should be and could be a good cheap signature dish as its so hard to get good proper nachos in the fort , you already serve soured cream and salsa with them so no need for bizarre chilli sauce..rather odd..everything else was excellent and whilst waiting for our food i seen some very good looking main dishes being served quickly to happy customers and well presented too , service and friendliness was great , maybe dust the cobwebs off the lights and remove the dead insects from the shades and replace the dead bulbs too.. 2 minutes work would improve overall impression vastly , other than that the atmosphere was good as was the food , value for money , fresh ingredients , service etc , free wi-fi was a good touch too.. keep up the good work guys..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salarseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“excellent food ad value”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went for lunch and the steak pie was the best I've had in a pub. My son had the burger and it was presented like a top hotel with a little frying basket for the chips. Wife had lasagne and grandson sausages. All in all great value at just over £30 for 4 with 4 cokes. Service was great too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetartanrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crofter also viewed

 

Been to The Crofter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing