We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a pub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crofter

The Crofter
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's a pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I ate here twice while in Fort William, at the choice of my companion. The food was good and reasonably priced. The service was terrible...not rude but it was a struggle to get any attention. You had to ask to be served. The atmosphere is not great unless it's a sports-focused, TV-dotted setting that you're looking for. It seems to be fairly popular spot with local sports enthusiasts but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone looking for a pleasant dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank France2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindemereDrambler, Owner at The Crofter, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am disheartened to hear that we failed you during your visit to the Crofter. The Crofter is a very busy establishment but this is certainly no excuse for being ignored. I have highlighted this review to all my colleagues to ensure we improve in this area. My sincere apologies and if by some reason you find yourself in Fort William again, I would love to meet you personally to assure you that we have listened and learnt from your review.

regards

Dale Monk
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    179
    59
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Lunch was good at £7 for pasta and a pint. Good value and clean and easy. Our server was excellent (another lady not quite so). Efficient and clean. Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crofterbar, Owner at The Crofter, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Racheal,

Many thanks for your honest opion of your experience at the Crofter. You are rigfht, we are worth a visit and offer both a good experience and value for money in a warm and friendly environment. Its good honest reviews like this that tripadvisor was made for.
Thanks for your patronage

regards

Dale Monk
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest England UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Local Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first meal after arriving in Corpach for our one week self catering holiday and we were not disappointed! My elderly mum and I ordered fish and chips and my husband ordered the steak and ale pie. The fish batter was light and crispy and the fish was a thick meaty slice of Haddock......delicious. The chips were great; nice and thick and well cooked. The pie was tasty and full of large chunks of beef in a rich gravy. The meals were piping hot and service was carried out with a smile. It was apparent that the staff had been quite busy before our arrival and had made an excellent effort to clear up....but impatient customers will often grab a table before it has been cleaned, mainly to ensure that they secure a table as this is a popular place where the food is always of a high standard and there is a constant stream of customers.

At around £8.95 per meal and reasonably priced beer we thought it was really good value for money.

As you may have gathered, my husband and I have frequented Crofters on many previous occasions and wouldn't miss an evening out here but it is a busy local pub (much like our own locals in the North of England) and people who live in Fort William expect the same level of service as visitors....quite rightly. We are quite happy to listen to the local chatter from some who have called in from work on their way home and sometimes have one too many! It gives us a laugh and makes us feel like we are part of the community.

My mum, who is a feisty woman, complained about her 'short measure' lager and this was promptly topped up by the bar staff! (Thanks for tolerating her complaint with a smile!)

We will be back in the future and look forward to our usual warm welcome. I would certainly recommend Crofters if you like good, hearty, tasty pub food with an atmosphere to match :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Altnaharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crofterbar, Owner at The Crofter, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Altnaharrie,

Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you have returned to enjoy our hospitality. We work hard at all areas of the business and always wear a smile on our faces. You are correct in the fact that our ethos is that we treat both local and vistors to the Crofter in a polite and effecient manner without segregating one or the other.
We will continue to offer value for money whislt using the best ingredients available to us.
Thank you once again for both your patronage and your kind words of encouragement.

Regards
Dale Monk
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a friendly bar/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

this is one of our regular places to eat and have a drink when we are up in this part of scotland, you cannot have a bad meal here the staff are friendly and it is well worth the money. yes it is not the fanciest bar but if you want great food and decent priced drinks after a hard days walking then you will enjoy here

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crofterbar, Owner at The Crofter, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi Bizilizi,

Many thanks for those kind words. The team at the Crofter work tirelessly to ensure we serve a allround great product and always welcome all cutomers into our friendly environment to enjoy our company and products that we are all so very proud to serve. I am sure you can tell the passion we share for customer service.

We are always looking for ways to improve and would love to know your thoughts next time you come into the Crofter.

Thanks

Dale Monk
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“After the Climb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The crofter was an ideal location to relax and recharge after a day in the mountains. The service was excellent, staff pleasant and warm. the food was good quality and served promptly. Big televisions are ideally situated so you can enjoy sport if that's your thing. The cost was good for the standard of the food which was a treat for hungry tidied people. A great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crofterbar, Owner at The Crofter, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Jeremy,

Great to hear you had a great time at the Crofter recently. Comments like yours are a ture reflection of the dedication my team provides for all our customers at the Crofter. We are passionate about the quality of our food and drink ranges as well as being able to offer value for money.
Its comments like the recognition you have delivered thats make our long days worth while and I will be sure to pass this onto all my team

Thanks
Dale Monk
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crofter also viewed

 

Been to The Crofter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing