We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy Staff”
Review of Cobbs at Nevisport

Cobbs at Nevisport
Ranked #21 of 69 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cobbs at Nevisport is an all-day ‘Family Friendly’ Bistro Bar and Café and popular meeting place for locals and visitors alike.Located next to the historic site of the ‘Old Fort’, our Bistro Bar combines style with the atmosphere of a friendly local pub.We have a wide choice of beers, including a regularly changing range of real ales from various Highland breweries and a large selection of whiskies, while our menu of simply cooked high quality food is created using locally sourced ingredients where possible.Our Café is a relaxed place to enjoy a range of meals and light bites, along with an unrivalled selection of delicious award winning cakes from our own bake-house. Whether you visit for drinks, a cake, or chat with friends over a coffee, our friendly staff guarantee you a warm welcome and a taste of traditional ‘Highland’ hospitality.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were visiting for the weekend and spotted this nice looking café in the centre of the town ..lots of nice woodwork, food was fine but my goodness the staff just looked so unhappy to be there !
Coffees and tray bakes were fine, place was clean and tidy but the atmosphere was spoilt by the obviously unhappy people working there ...maybe they should have just closed for the Bank holiday weekend ??

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcallistern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobbs N, Manager at Cobbs at Nevisport, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We are really pleased you gave our food 4 stars and also found our cafe to be clean and tidy. These are two of the many things we work very hard to achieve. We are really disappointed that you felt our hard working staff spoiled the atmosphere and can only apologise for that. If you give us another chance you will find that we really are a happy bunch :) and i sincerely hope we have another chance to show you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

An unexpected find in the heart of Fort William! The wooden interior complete with cosy sofas could easily be mistaken for an apres bar or mountain restaurant in the French alps. There is a wide selection of hot food, cakes, hot and cold drinks and soup on offer at fairly reasonable prices. On 2 occaisions I sampled the paninis and they did not dissapoint! The building also houses a sports shop and gift shop meaning that I can combine my 2 favourite pastimes - eating and shopping all in one venue! I will definitely visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobbs N, Manager at Cobbs at Nevisport, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you Emily for a fantastic review of our cafe. We are lucky enough to operate in a unique building that includes the Nevisport sports shop and gift shop so I can imagine what a nice surprise this would be for thoses keen shoppers out there. Our paninis really are delicious and made with the freshest of ingredients so i am really pleased you enjoyed them. As for our cakes the award winning Oatie Vanillia Creams are my personal favourite and perhaps I really should lay off them for a bit and save some for the customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just been to Cobbs whilst waiting for the train to Glasgow.
Had a delicious, rich chocolate brownie and a delightful mint hot chocolate with cream.and nice sweet marshmallows, and all for £4.
Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobbs N, Manager at Cobbs at Nevisport, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review for our cafe. The chocolate brownie is also a favourite of mine and i am really pleased that you enjoyed it. The next time you are in Fort William you should give the caramel hot chocolate a try along with our new luxury caramel shortbread they are yum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

looks like just an ordinary pub on arrival but the meal we had was great. Very good food, served in good time and not too expensive. We did have a small issue with one of our main courses but the barman got us a replacement very quicky AND offered us a refund. We took the replacement but refused to take the money back as we enjoyed our food so much. We stay in Fort William 2 or 3 times a year and will use Cobbs again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobbs N, Manager at Cobbs at Nevisport, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review. I remember you and your family and am really pleased to read that you will be back again. You were the family sat under the television and are very easy to remember due to your friendliness. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and once again thank you for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I both had the roast beef with a pint of real ale and a glass of coke for under £20. Beef was very tasty served with lovely fresh vegetables and Yorkshire pudding would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Broxi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobbs at Nevisport also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Cobbs at Nevisport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing