We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biker friendly superb place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigh na Drochaid

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh na Drochaid
Ranked #48 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biker friendly superb place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just found this great little place again! so glad I have, we stayed here in 2011, 3 guys on motorbikes, we where welcomed and shown to our room, the bikes where safe at the rear of the house and we were happy after a long ride up from Wigan. The room was spacious and spotless and enabled us to relax, get showered then head down to the town for a curry and some beers! I would definitely recommend this place..... Its now in my iPhone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After a very long journey, we found Tigh na Drochaid easily on the outskirts of Fort William and were given a lovely welcome with lots of tips for places to eat and visit.
The room was very comfortable and clean and the shower room was spotless with beautiful lots of fluffy towels. The view from the bedroom looked out over the Glen Nevis road, which was really quiet. We were given a 10% voucher to use at The Food Stop, a local restaurant which was about 10 minutes walk away and the food there was delicious. Our breakfast at the B&B was really good and we were given lots of choices. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recommended (and justly so!) by my climbing instructor, Tigh na Drochaid was the perfect base this September for some climbing in Fort William and Glencoe. I stayed in the self-catering two-story apartment which was very cosy, modern and well-decorated with excellent equipment, furniture, linens etc - wonderful to return to after a day in the mountains. Ros and Willie are the warmest of hosts and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kTemerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
272 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We return to Tigh na Drochaid again and again for a number of reasons:

1. The accomodation is spotlessly clean, and very comfortable;
2. Easy walking distance to both Ben Nevis and the town centre;
3.Safe, off street parking;
4. Most importantly, the hospitality offered by Ros & Willie. As far as hosts go, they make guests feel very welcome from the word go, and are friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

We wouldn't dream of going elsewhere in Fort William!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August with my hubby, we travelled on motorbikes. Good off road secure parking available on site. Warm welcome, spotless and huge room with a gorgeous en suite with a good shower with piping hot water. Comfy bed, lovely clean bed linens, clean towels, tv, hair dryer - everything you needed. Wandered into town, 10 minute walk to a decent recommended (by b+b owner) indian restaurant. Breakfast, help yourself to cereals and juice. Tea/coffee and cooked breakfast all delivered promptly and with a smile! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybiker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a really nice, comfortable stay and could not have asked for a cleaner, more spacious room. The bed was comfiest bed ever! The shower was warm. Good tea and coffee facilities in the room. We could come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was cooked perfectly every morning and there was a great selection for everybody. Perfect location just a short walk into town and a short walk to the Ben Nevis visitor centre. The owners were very friendly and answered any questions we had and made it a very relaxed stay. Only some very small points were that there was no shaver plug in the bathroom and the kettle lead was a bit short (had to make tea on floor). Overall we would highly recommend this to anybody staying in Fort William!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

On the night we stayed saturday 11th august i rang ahead from just around the corner having filled the bike with fuel. (away from the pumps obviously). I was told by the owner yes we have availability... excellent... you could have walked it. On pulling into the driveway i knew we had struck gold. As we were touring on a motorcycle somewhere safe over night to park your beloved machine is a major priority. This was not a problem as around the side and to the rear it was gated. We had a warm greeting from the owner who promptly told us we were in the apartment... WOW basically it was a small house at the rear of the property all self contained kitchen, lounge with TV dvd stereo etc etc.. upstairs bedroom and bathrom.. And all at a very reasonable price.. Had a great nights sleep after our meal in the town. lovely shower.. great breakfast.. Please can we come back.. this will definately be on the map for a return visit...

Room Tip: The Apartment would be a fantastic option for couples touring by motorcycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebutlerdidit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#19 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
0.9 mi away
Shelbeck B&B
Shelbeck B&B
#14 of 30 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Guest House
Ben Nevis Guest House
#25 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Drochaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Drochaid

Property: Tigh na Drochaid
Address: Nevis Bridge, Fort William PH33 6PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Drochaid Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing