We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun comfortable and popular place right on Main Street”

Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 68 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun comfortable and popular place right on Main Street”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very good food in traditional Scottish setting. Food was very good, service friendly. And it seemed popular with local and tourists.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    218
    150
    97
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant. Great haggis!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stopped in this restaurant on our way to Inverness. Place did not look good from outside (especially from the lake side), but inside was nice (if you do not expect 5 star restaurant). We tried haggies & tatties and some cakes (and some beer :-). Food and service was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

1 member of staff behind the bar on a Saturday night,
restaurant had run out of steaks, mash, most veg, steak pie, ordered drinks which were forgotten about, staff stood around talking most of the time.
Started of Haggis and pepper sauce though tasty looked very unappealing, better presentation needed i think.
Balmoral Chicken was dry and as there were no veg left i got some stir fried red cabbage and leeks.
If you've no food left dont accept a booking for 14 people at 9pm we could have found somewhere else!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommayes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Food and Atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a quick pint in the bar downstairs before heading up to the restaurant for dinner. The choice of drinks was excellent with plenty of local ales on offer. In the restaurant we both had very enjoyable meals, again lots of choice available. Friendly service and nice atmosphere rounded off the evening. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I shared a lovely meal with friends at the Ben Nevis Bar. We had a table on the second floor with a lovely view of the Fort William waterfront. Our server was excellent as was the food. I would recommend this establishment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing