We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live band, lively atmosphere, cracking pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant

Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Live band, lively atmosphere, cracking pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We headed here after a day on the Ben and a meal elsewhere. A game of pool in the quiet bar and through to hear the excellent live band in the lounge. The place was rocking and it was a brilliant night. We stayed all night and I can't imagine there was a better place to be in Fort William on Saturday night. If they have live music then drink here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    205
    141
    92
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst restaurant experience to date”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We waited 45 mins to get a table on a Saturday night (indicated the restaurant was good). After we were given a table we gave our order and waited 50 mins to get pate and prawns as a starter. The prawn starter apparently came with chorizo.....not seen. We then waited for our mains, one of which was a brie and tomato tart. The tart was under cooked and the size of the dinner plate. It was awful. Considering we were one of 10 tables in at 2145 the service and food was very below standard. I would not recommend this place to anyone, regardless of whether I liked them or not. Awful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJKBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always busy and food has always been great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Always busy and food has always been great. Its upstairs off the main street and has windows at the back the look out onto the water. Fast service. If it had Wifi it would have been perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klein-Winternheim, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was also ther twice. Nice Bar.
We did not have any food but noticed others eating.
Loooked okay. Service was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok but wouldn't recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place for an early dinner in the week. We went to eat in the bar and we were told there was no food served in there after 5pm which was fair enough, could have been a bit more friendly.
The food was fair, nothing compared with a place just across the road, the service felt rushed with the waiter bringing our main courses whilst we were still eating our starter. Didn't find the staff overly friendly and when we declined sweets, the bill was brought over to us. The waitress did point out that there was no rush and we did have time to finish our drinks but it did feel like they needed the table so we quickly had our drinks and moved onto another pub where we actually had a really great time. There was not really an atmosphere in there either despite the number of people in there. We decided not to return there during our stay and we wouldn't recommend it to people we knew.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilson168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing