We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pub grub”

Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 68 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Average pub grub”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Ate here twice, first time I had the steak, a little tough and dry. Second time had the chicken tikka was ok but with a drink you won't see change from £20.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davisanthony64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    218
    150
    96
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Ate here using our Gourmet Society card - the food was OK, there were nice bits (a veggie pie was delicious) & not so great bits (tinned or frozen carrots - not sure which). Because of the discount it was good value for money - but we weren't overwhelmed

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mozza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had Haggis neeps and tatties the first night. Was delicious. The staff were very efficient and pleasant too. Excellent beer. The Rioja we had was very good and at a perfect temperature. Liked it so much we went back the next night. Husband had the sirloin, cooked perfectly to his satisfaction. I had smoked haddock, equally enjoyable. Would certainly recommend this restuarant. Best to book - it appeared to be very popular.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkwitch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good service,Excellent food”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went here as I have done for many years. Had a few bed experiences the last time. But staff has changed so I asked what happened. The barman filled me in about the ex manager who was there who was terrible and was sacked for bullying. I didn't have high hopes after last year but it was excellent. Everything tasted fresh my lager was ice cold and the staff were very friendly and flirted a bit. Was a very nice atmosphere and went back every day for the week I stayed. Just excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average with nice views”
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here Monday. Nice views over back decking. Service would have been a bit better with some smiles. Ham and cheese sandwich with chutney was amazing! No kids menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillaxingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing