We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caters very well for vegetarians.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Food Stop

The Food Stop
Ranked #32 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Caters very well for vegetarians.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was surprised and pleased with the amount and variety of vegetarian meals. It wasn't the usual boring pasta or risotto (is that really the best a chef can dream up?) At the Food Stop they clearly have a better chef than many places as there were at least 4 veggie meals including a nut roast - which is what I had. It wasn't the nuttiest of nut roasts but it was very tasty and it came with carrots, potatoes and a tomato gravy.
The restaurant was clean, light and comfortable.
The prices were also good.
I'd happily eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    30
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield,England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent meal at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Service was good on the two nights we visited late May 2013, and the restaurant was always full which gives a good atmosphere and is general a good sign. We had a quiet table at the back of the restaurant and although the furniture is slightly old it was comfortable enough and the folded napkins added a nice touch. The meal order was taken quickly and the soup was very tasty as a starter. The bread roll with the soup could have been better, it was supermarket value white roll type, I would have preferred a choice of brown roll with a bit more quality.

The main courses we had were The salmon which my wife enjoyed very much, and the sea bass which I found very good with a good portion size. The sweet course was excellent, although it was not large it was sufficient to end the meal with. The service does seem to depend on the waiter you have perhaps we were lucky.
We were well satisfied and booked for the following night, and again were delighted with the meal etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenEagleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DISSAPOINTED!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Came here with my partner, we had starters and mains my partner has mozarella cheese sticks, they were average. I had mussel starter, which were very rubbery not very warm and also the sauce far too thick. For mains we had 2 steaks, which my partner had fillet steak. Was ok. And I had sirloin which was very fatty and chips served with it was VERY over cooked hollow and no potato in them.. Wouldn't go back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Makes You Wonder What is Going On ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

With all the different reviews about this eating place, it makes us wonder what is hapening at the Food Stop in the Alexandra hotel, and Fort William in general... I am aware that many places have closed down in the high street, in FW and the whole place is run down (nice scenery though) , and many of its inhabitants are demoralized and fed up with conditions and the lack of sensible proposals to regenerate the area, and this can lead to complacancy...Instead of wanting to show that your business is the best it can be.... Many eating places in Fort WIlliam have poor reviews (see Trip Advisor) and it makes one wonder if some businesses rely on an unskilled (locals need to update their customer interfacing skills) or partially skilled transient work force, because the local scottish youth are leaving the area. Think also it must depend on who is on duty in the service area and the chef...The quality of their moods and skills are dictating service. So bearing this in mind ones experience will depend very much on the the agenda and therefore attitude of who is attending to you in the food stop, (and other places also) at any particular time. THIS IS NOT the way to operate in the service industry, there must be consistency and the customer`s needs always come first. Whch many employees have forgotten.. However, when we called in the Food Stop, in the centre of Fort William, which we would describe as a typical old fashioned hotel restaurant, the food was well presented and plenty of it. The atmosphere to eat was OK, the furnishings were a bit dated and dowdy but the service on the day we went in, Feburary 2013 was excellent from the male that served us, food served within 15 mins and by a this genuinely friendly scottish male` who catered for our needs. There were other female staff who were not so skilled at communication and service. So you see, it all depends, pot luck in many Fort William places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid - you're not that hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Four colleagues and myself visited this place recently and can safely say none of us will ever be back. Food was terrible; frozen rubbish and tasteless.

When we asked to pay separately the staf were less than impressed and huffed more than a toddler.

What a joke of a place. Save your money and buy something fresh from Morrisons

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HMC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Stop also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Food Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing