We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but may need to wait”
Review of Sugar & Spice

Sugar & Spice
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bringing a taste of the far East to the West Highlands of Scotland. Sugar & Spice is a warm and friendly family run Thai cafe tucked away at the West end of Fort William High Street. Driven by his love of Thai food, our Thai Chef Bow serves up Authentic dishes in our relaxed and informal atmosphere. Sugar & Spice is unlicensed, however you may bring your own bottle and enjoy your favourite wine with one of our delicious meals. Opening as a Thai restaurant in Summer 2012 we have fast developed a reputation for delivering quality, authentic Thai food at a good price.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely but may need to wait”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It seems to be the best place around, nice cafe feel and good food but we had to wait half an hour for our food even though we arrived at 7.15 when the place wasn't particularly full. Feels slightly pricey with curries at £10.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woodster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    69
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“West Thailand Way!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We fell into Sugar & Spice in Fort William in a state of verging on desperation. Having just 'bagged' Ben Nevis we were in need of good food but in a relaxed setting as we were still in our walking kit. We also couldn't walk far and do the tourist trawl of looking for somewhere to eat.

Bright and homely inside, with lovely photographs for sale on the walls, our waitress quickly put together a table for us as the cafe was already quite full - mostly with locals, which is always a good sign. A regular coffee and cake shop during the day, Sugar and Spice turns itself into a Thai restaurant by night. Limited menu - 7 dishes in all with a choice of veg, meats or prawns. We all had something different and all were delicious - the dish with cashews was generous with the nuts and all the veg with crispy and fresh. A slight delay with our order which we were kept informed of and fed prawn crackers to ease the hunger of our teens. This is an unlicensed restaurant so BYO if you fancy a beer or wine. £45 for 4, including soft drinks & coffees.

This is a small, welcoming place with young owners making their way - visit, support & enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoodleStroodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent Thai food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

accidentally gate crashed a family birthday! but was warmly welcomed and very kindly offered some thai food which we took away (although they did invite us to stay!) went back for a proper sit down meal and the food was excellent, very fresh, full of flavour and much better than the other thai place in town. excellent value for money. very friendly staff who were happy to organise their lovely cup cakes to be brought out for after the meal to embarass the birthday girl!! looking forward to trying their lunch menu

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Independent Cafe with relaxed vibe and great smoothies”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

So glad I walked to end of high street to find this original cafe. Good service and food serving both locals and tourists. Good value for sandwiches and home made cakes . Better than usual fare from the chains.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sticci72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convert to Thai food”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and i had a delicious meal here last weekend, fresh and tasty food and great value for money. Bow and the rest of the team where helpful friendly and courteous. Thanks to Francis and Clare for keeping us right.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar & Spice also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Sugar & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing